中国法院民事执行的困境与突破

   

作者:杜国栋 余萌

   

中国法院曾长期面临民事判决难以被有效执行的困境,但最近几年以来,中国法院采取了多项对策,正在使民事执行的效率迅速提高。

1. 背景

中国法院长期面临民事生效法律文书难以执行的困境。在中国政治体制中,中国共产党对司法体系发挥重要的作用。早在1999年,根据中国共产党的最高领导机关中央委员会就发布过一份文件,在其中将执行困境描述为:

  • 法院难以找到被执行人;
  • 法院难以找到可被执行的财产;
  • 协助执行的机构或人员不配合法院;
  • 法院难以控制和处分应被执行的财产。

这些问题造成未执行案件大量积压。截止1998年底,全国法院共积存未执行案件53万余件,标的金额总计人民币1000多亿元。

此后执行难问题仍未从根本上得到缓解,在某些方面甚至有加剧的趋势,这导致中国社会各界非常关注该问题,人民群众对这个问题也有很多意见。

2014年,中国共产党中央委员会发布了政治文件《中共中央关于全面推进依法治国若干重大问题的决定》,对中国法律体系的改革作出了规划。在该文件中再次强调“切实解决执行难”,“依法保障胜诉当事人及时实现权益。” 

为了响应前述政治文件的要求,2016年3月13日,SPC院长周强在十二届全国人大四次会议上报告最高人民法院工作时承诺:“用两到三年时间基本解决执行难问题”。

为了兑现该承诺,2016年4月29日,SPC发布了《关于落实“用两到三年时间基本解决执行难问题”的工作纲要》,提出在两到三年内实现以下四个目标:

(1)有财产可供执行案件在法定期限内基本执行完毕。

(2)基本得到遏制两个现象:一是被执行人规避执行、抗拒执行,二是案外人员和部分政府机关干预。

(3)人民法院消极执行、选择性执行、乱执行的情形基本消除。

(4)基本解决无财产可供执行案件中存在两个问题,一是关于终结本次执行的程序标准和实质标准把握不严,二是关于再次发现可供执行的财产时恢复执行的规定不完善。

在此之后,中国法院相继采取的多项对策,使执行难问题的解决步入了快车道。

2. 对策

根据SPC审判委员会委员、第一巡回法庭庭长刘贵祥在2018年1月发表的一篇名为《人民法院执行工作现状与分析》文章所说,SPC的民事执行取得重大进展:2013年至2015年三年间全国法院通过民事执行所获得的资金金额达到人民币32861.82 亿元,2016年至2017年年底两年间该金额超过人民币2.5万亿元。刘贵祥认为SPC取得这些进展主要是因为采取了如下四个对策:

(1)建立网络执行查控系统,便捷查询被执行人财产

据SPR表示,人民法院受理的60-70%的执行案件中,当事人也无法提供有效财产线索,需要人民法院依法查找财产。为此SPC开始建立网络执行查控系统,力求获得被执行人财产及活动轨迹的全部信息。2014年底该系统开通,到现在全国所有3500多家法院已可以通过该系统查询到被执行人全国范围内的存款、车辆、证券、网络资金、理财产品、个人对外投资等15类20项信息。

截至 2017年12月,全国法院利用网络查控系统共查询案件 3236 万件、冻结1735 亿元,查询到车辆 2702 万辆、证券 493 亿股、渔船和船舶 34 万余艘、互联网银行存款超过 28 亿元。

(2)建立失信被执行人信用惩戒机制,迫使其主动履行义务

为了迫使被执行人履行生效法律文书, 2013年SPC开始将发生某些严重失信行为的被执行人列入失信被执行人名单。该名单会自动推送给相关政府部门、组织和公司(如金融机构),使失信被执行人受到(在法院)“一处失信”、(在其他地方)“处处受限”的信用惩戒。

目前失信被执行人已经受到11类 100 多项惩戒措施,如在出行(如不得购买特定舱位机票、火车票)、旅游、投资(如不得担任公司高管)、购买不动产、消费(如高消费)、金融(如贷款)等领域的活动受到限制等,还包括不得担任政府公务员、各级党代表、人大代表、政协委员等职务等。

从2013年10月至今,中国各个法院累计发布失信被执行人名单 925 万人次,累计发布限制高消费令981万人次。其中,限制 908 万人次购买机票,356 万人次购买动车、高铁票,共限制失信被执行人担任企业法定代表人及高管 19 余万人。据SPC统计,10%以上的失信被执行人因此而主动履行义务,或者与申请执行人协商达成和解协议。

(3)通过网络司法拍卖被执行财产,提高变现效率

根据SPC统计,在中国法院的执行案件所查到的被执行人财产中,资金只占 40%,其余的财产都需要通过拍卖等方式变现后才能向申请执行人支付。但是,传统拍卖方式不仅成本高,成交率低,溢价率低。为了避免这些问题,中国部分法院自2012年开始相继采取网络司法拍的方式,即通过互联网拍卖平台,以网络电子竞价方式公开处置被执行财产。SPC肯定了这种做法,并从2017年1月1日开始在全国法院推行网络司法拍卖。

在SPC推荐使用的互联网拍卖平台中,司法拍卖的各项指数最高的平台是淘宝网。在淘宝网上,从 2012 年至今的网络司法拍卖中,累计拍卖65 万次,拍卖标的物 36 万件,成交额 5000 亿元,平均成交率达到 92%,超出起拍价的溢价率达到 64%,为当事人免除佣金达 150 亿元。

目前网络司法拍卖中单笔成交额最大的一次拍卖,是2017年8月10日拍卖一块土地使用权。在该拍卖中,经过901 次出价,评估价为人民币16.7 亿元的土地使用权最终以人民币26.3 亿元成交,溢价率达到57%。

(4)建立全国法院执行案件流程管理系统,防范法院工作人员在执行中不规范行为

SPC为了防范法院执行工作人员发生腐败,建立了覆盖全国各级所有法院的一体化信息管理系统。

该系统为8类执行案件设置37个关键节点。对于每一个执行案件,从立案、执行通知、统查被执行人的财产,到财产的评估、拍卖、变现、变现所得资金的分配和向申请执行人支付等程序都要在系统内进行。在该系统内,每一个步骤必须严格按照流程进行,完成标准动作之后才能进入下一个环节,没有通融的余地。

执行法院、当事人、上级法院乃至最高人民法院都可以通过该系统监督执行工作人员办理案件的过程,从而防止法院执行人员消极执行、拖延执行、选择执行、乱执行等不规范的、甚至违法的行为。

2016年5月SPC完成该系统的研发,并在2016年年底在全国法院投入使用。在此之后,所有新受理的执行案件已在该系统办理,2500多万件旧案件的历史数据也逐步转移到系统中。

3. 我们的建议:

中国法院最近几年以来采取了多项对策,也颁布了数十个规定,使民事执行的效率迅速提高,且成本继续保持较低的水平。如果你有可在中国承认与执行的仲裁裁决或法院判决,可以考虑尝试在中国申请承认与执行。如果你有正在发生的纠纷,也可以考虑通过中国的法院或仲裁机构解决,因为中国法院的执行能力可以使你更方便地迫使败诉方履行判决或裁决。

标签: 民事执行

Dilemma and Breakthrough in Enforcement of Civil Judgments by Chinese Courts

Thu, 15 Mar 2018 Insights

Save as PDF

     

Chinese courts have long been faced with the difficulty of civil judgments being effectively enforced. However, in recent years, Chinese courts have undertaken various measures, which lead to significant efficiency gains in the enforcement.

1. Background

Chinese courts have long been confronted with the difficulty of effective civil judgments being enforced. In China’s political system, the Communist Party of China (CPC) plays an important role in the judicial system. As early as 1999, according to a document issued by the CPC Central Committee (CPC’s supreme body), the enforcement dilemma is described as: 

  • It is difficult for the Court to locate the judgment debtor; 
  • It is difficult for the Court to locate executable property;
  • The institutions or personnel who are required to assist in enforcement do not cooperate with the Court; 
  • It is difficult for the Court to control and dispose of property subject to execution.

These problems have caused a large backlog of cases where judgments remain unenforced. By the end of 1998, a total of over 530,000 unenforced judgments had been deposited in courts across the country, the amount involved totaling more than RMB 100 billion.

Since then, the enforcement dilemma has not yet been fundamentally resolved. In some respects, there is even an aggravating trend, which has led to great concerns from all walks of life in China while the masses are dissatisfied with this issue.

In 2014, the CPC Central Committee released the political document, "Decision of the CPC Central Committee on Several Major Issues concerning the Overall Promotion of the Rule of Law" (中共中央关于全面推进依法治国若干重大问题的决定), and made plans for the reform of China's legal system. In the said document, it emphasizes once again "thoroughly solving the enforcement dilemma" and "ensuring the winning parties timely realize their rights and interests in accordance with the law."

To respond to the aforementioned requirements of the political document, on 13 March 2016, during the fourth session of China’s 12th National People’s Congress (NPC), when Zhou Qiang, president of the Supreme People's Court (SPC), delivered a report on the SPC's work, he promised that “within two to three years, the enforcement dilemma will be basically solved”.

In order to honor this commitment, on 29 April 2016, the SPC issued the “Working Outline for Implementation of ‘within two to three years, the enforcement dilemma will be basically solved’ ”(关于落实“用两到三年时间基本解决执行难问题”的工作纲要) and proposed the following four goals for the next two to three years:

(1) For cases where executable property exists, judgments shall be basically enforced within the statutory deadline. 

(2 )Two phenomena are basically reduced. First, the judgment debtor evades enforcement or resists enforcement; second, outsiders and some government agencies interfere with the case.

(3) Situations that may result in negative enforcement, selective enforcement and/or arbitrary enforcement are basically eliminated.

(4) For cases where no executable property exists, two problems are basically solved. First, there is a lack of strict adherence to the procedural and substantive criteria for ending this enforcement; second, there are no sound provisions for the resumption of enforcement when executable property is found.

Since then, a number of measures taken successively by Chinese courts have effectively addressed the enforcement plight. 

2. Countermeasures

According to an article entitled "Current Situation and Analysis of the Enforcement in the People's Courts" (人民法院执行工作现状与分析)published by Judge Liu Guixiang (SPC judicial committee member, president of the First Circuit Court) in January 2018, significant progress has been made in the enforcement of civil judgments in China: from 2013 to 2015 (in 3 years), the monetary amount for which judgments are enforced by Chinese courts reached RMB 3.286182 trillion, and from 2016 to 2017 (in 2 years), the amount exceeded RMB 2.5 trillion. Liu Guixiang believed that such progress made by SPC were mainly from the following four countermeasures: 

(1) Establishing an online system to facilitate the inquiry and control of judgment debtors’ property

For 60-70% of enforcement cases, the parties concerned are unable to provide effective clues to the property and the People's Court is required to investigate such property in accordance with the law. To this end, SPC began to establish an online inquiry and control system and strive to obtain all information regarding judgment debtors’ property and activities. By the end of 2014, the system was launched. Up to now, more than 3,500 courts across the country have been able to inquire about 20 entries of 15 categories of information such as deposits, vehicles, securities, online funds, wealth management products and personal overseas investments of the judgment debtor through the system.

As of December 2017, through this online system, Chinese courts have inquired a total of 32.36 million cases, frozen RMB 173.5 billion, found 27.02 million vehicles, 49.3 billion shares, more than 340,000 fishing vessels and ships and over RMB 2.8 billion online banking deposits.

(2) Establishing a credit discipline mechanism against judgment debtors to force them to voluntarily fulfill their obligations

In order to force judgment debtors to satisfy the effective legal documents, in 2013, the SPC began to include the judgment debtor that undertakes certain dishonest conducts into the List of Dishonest Judgment Debtors. The blacklist is automatically pushed to relevant government departments, organizations and companies (such as financial institutions) to bring the dishonest subject to the credit discipline of "one dishonesty" (in court) and "all restricted" (elsewhere).

At present, dishonest judgment debtors have been restricted by disciplinary measures of more than 100 entries of 11 categories, such as travel (no purchase of a specific class tickets of flight or train), tourism, investment (no service as the company executives), the purchase of real estate, financing (such as loans) and other activities, while also may not serve as government officials, party representatives at all levels, the NPC representatives, the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) members and other positions.

From October 2013 to the present, various courts in China have declared a total of 9.25 million persons listed on the List of Discredited Judgment Debtors, and a total of 9.81 million persons subject to restrictions on high-level consumption. Among them, 9.08 million persons are restricted from the purchase of flight tickets; 3.56 million persons are restricted from the purchase of bullet train tickets and high-speed rail tickets; and more than 190,000 executives are restricted from acting as legal representatives and executives of enterprises. According to the SPC’s statistics, more than 10% of the dishonest subjects will fulfill the obligation voluntarily or negotiate with the judgment creditor to reach a settlement agreement.

(3) Improving the liquidation efficiency of the property subject to execution through online judicial auction 

According to the SPC’s statistics, funds collected from the enforcement proceedings in China only account for 40% of the judgment debtors’ assets. The rest of the assets must be liquidated through auctions and other methods before they can be paid to the judgment creditors. However, the traditional auction method is not only costly, the turnover rate is low and so is the premium rate. To solve these problems, some Chinese courts have begun to adopt the online judicial auction method since 2012, i.e., through the Internet auction platform, to dispose of the assets subject to enforcement in an open manner through online electronic bidding. The SPC affirmed this practice and, starting from 1 January 2017, launched an online judicial auction in courts across the country.

Among the Internet auction platforms recommended by the SPC, the highest index platform for judicial auctions is Taobao. In Taobao, from 2012 till now, the auction network has accumulated 650,000 auctions and 360,000 auction objects with a turnover of RMB 500 billion, with an average transaction rate of 92% and the premium exceeding the starting price reaches 64% while the parties involved are exempt from up to RMB15 billion commission. 

At present, the auction with the largest single amount in the online judicial auction is the auction of land use rights on 10 August 2017. In this auction, after 901 bids, the land use rights with an estimated value of RMB1.67 billion were eventually settled at RMB 2.63 billion at a premium of 57%.

(4) Establishing a national case management system to prevent enforcement officers’ illegal acts 

To prevent corruption within enforcement officers, the SPC has established an integrated information management system covering all courts across the country.

The system sets 37 key nodes for eight categories of enforcement cases. For each enforcement case, procedures of each section must be implemented within the system, from filing, enforcement notification, inspection of the judgment debtor’s property, to the assessment, auction, liquidation of property, distribution of proceeds from liquidation and payment to the judgment creditor. In this system, each step must be strictly followed as per the procedure. The next step can only be entered after the standard actions are completed while there is no room for compromise.

Enforcement courts, parties, higher courts, and even the SPC can use this system to supervise the work process of enforcement officers, so as to prevent the officers from carrying out non-standard or even illegal acts such as passive enforcement, delayed enforcement, selective enforcement and arbitrary enforcement.

In May 2016, the SPC completed the development of the system and put it into use in courts across the country by the end of the same year. Since then, all newly accepted enforcement cases have been handled in the system, and historical data of more than 25 million old cases have been gradually transferred to the system.

Our tips:

The move by Chinese courts in recent years has led to a rapid increase in the enforcement efficiency, while the cost borne by the parties concerned has remained low. If you have a foreign court judgment or a foreign arbitral award that needs to be recognized and enforced in China, you may consider trying to apply for recognition and enforcement in Chinese courts. If you have an ongoing dispute, you may also consider settlement through a Chinese court or a Chinese arbitral institution, given that the enforcement mechanism in China can make it easier for the enforcement of the judgment or award.

 

 

If you would like to discuss with us about the post, or share your views and suggestions, please contact Ms. Meng Yu (meng.yu@chinajusticeobserver.com ).

If you need legal services for the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments and arbitral awards in China, please contact Mr. Guodong Du (guodong.du@chinajusticeobserver.com ). Du and his team of experienced attorney will be able to assist you.

Contributors: Guodong Du 杜国栋 , Meng Yu 余萌

Save as PDF

Comment