中国法院如何实际对待外域法查明:中国法官之声

Image

  

中国法官之声系列文章,是中国司法观察对中国法官文章的摘要,以反映中国法官对中国法律和司法体系的现实问题的思考。

本文是对《从“纸面上的法律”到“行动中的法律”》一文的摘要,以反映中国法官对实际审理案件中外域法查明问题的思考。该文章收录于2017年5月出版的《全国法院第28届学术讨论会获奖论文集》,其作者是管俊兵,系中国江西省宜春市中级人民法院法官。

摘要如下:

如何准确获取与适用外域法,这个问题一直困扰着中国法院。作者分析了中国法院审理的50件涉及外域法查明的案件,然后发现:由于中国法官缺乏方便的外域法查明手段,因此倾向于以未查明外域法为由而适用其熟悉的法院地法(即中国法)。但是,中国法院正在积极正视这一问题,并采取了一些措施。

作者搜集了从1998年至2015年期间发生的50起中国法院认为可适用外域法的案例。作者认为,考虑到中国法院适用外域法的案件实际上非常少,这50起案件已足以反映出外域法査明制度在中国司法实践中的真实状况。

1. 中国法院外域法查明的成功率仍较低


2011-20152005-20101998-2004Total
查明56920
未查明169530

表1

从表1可以看出,中国法院外域法查明的成功率仍较低,50个案例中有30个案例中,法院最终未查明外域法。

2.未查明外域法的主要原因是当事人未提供外域法

在法院未査明外域法的30个案例,有16个案例是由于当事人没有提供外域法,造成法院未查明外域法。这表明很多当事人虽然主张适用外域法,却依然难以提供。甚至连中国最大的互联网公司阿里巴巴,在诉讼中都没有提供其主张适用的开曼群岛法律。

3.查明外域法的各项途径及实际采纳率

中国法律规定了五种外域法査明途径:(1)由当事人提供;(2)由与我国订立司法协助协定的缔约对方的中央机关提供;(3)由我国驻该国使领馆提供;(4)由该国驻我国使领馆提供;(5)由中国和外国的法律专家提供。

在50个案例中,各种查明途径的使用次数,及通过该途径查明的外域法被中国法院采纳的次数,分别如下:

查明方法
外国专家中国专家
使领馆
当事人提供
条约途径学术著作、官方出版物等辅助资料
互联网
使用次数11218052
采纳次数5214041
采纳率
45%100%100%50%080%50%

表2

从表2可以看出:

(1)虽然由当事人提供和由外国专家提供外域法,是使用次数最多的两种査明途径,但通过这两种途径查明的外域法其得到法院采纳的可能性最低。

(2)各査明途径采纳率排行如下:使领馆提供=中国专家提供>查阅学术著作>网络査明>当事人提供>外国专家提供。

4.对策:外国法查明平台相继建立

目前,中国法官缺乏查明外域法的方便手段。由于中国法官的工作量普遍较大,而且中国法院对法官按时结案有严格的要求,因此法官为了减少工作量、尽快结案,倾向于避免将过多精力消耗在外域法查明。于是,法官更愿意以未查明外域法为由,适用其更熟悉的法院地法(即中国法)。

为解决这一问题,2014年以来,中国最高人民法院陆续推动有关机构建立了外域法查明平台,并推荐各法院委托这些机构查明外域法,如中国政法大学“外国法查明研究中心”。 

CJO注:中国最高人民法院推荐的外域法查明平台已开始发挥作用。2018年初,中国天津海事法院委托中国政法大学外国法查明研究中心对某保险合同纠纷所涉及的墨西哥法律进行查明,并由完成法律查明工作的专家出庭接受双方当事人质询。

标签: 中国法官之声, 外国法查明

Voice of Chinese Judges: Ascertainment of Foreign Law in Chinese Courts

Sun, 25 Mar 2018 Insights
Editor: C. J. Observer

Save as PDF

Image

 

The Voice of Chinese Judges Series is a collection of selected articles of Chinese judges introduced by the China Justice Observer (CJO), to reflect their thoughts on the existing issues concerning China’s law and judicial system.

In order to reflect Chinese judges’ views on ascertainment of foreign law in trial, this post is an introduction to the article titled “From Law in Written to Law in Action” (从“纸面上的法律”到“行动中的法律”) written by Judge Guan Junbing (Judge of Yichun Intermediate People’s Court in Jiangxi province). This article is included in the “Awarded Symposia of the 28th National Courts’ Academic Session” (全国法院第28届学术讨论会获奖论文集) published in May 2017.

Chinese courts have long been perplexed by the problem of how to accurately ascertain and apply foreign law. Through an analysis of 50 cases heard by Chinese courts, the author concluded that there is a tendency to apply the lex fori, i.e., Chinese law, which is familiar to Chinese judges, on the grounds of failure to prove the foreign law, due to the fact that the judges lack convenient means in ascertainment. However, Chinese courts are now taking an active role to face this problem and adopting measures to resolve it.

The author collected and analyzed 50 cases from 1998 to 2015, in which Chinese courts applied foreign law as the governing law. Considering there are only a handful of cases applying foreign law in China, in the author’s opinion, the said 50 cases are enough to reflect the reality of the ascertainment of foreign law in Chinese judicial practice.

1.The success rate of ascertainment of foreign law remains low

Among the 50 cases, the number of cases where foreign law was ascertained and that of their counterparts are as follows:

  2011-2015 2005-2010 1998-2004 Total
Ascertained 5 6 9 20
Not Ascertained 16 9 5 30

Chart 1

Chart 1 shows that the rate of foreign law being ascertained is still low, only 20 out of  50 cases have been ascertained. 

2. The main reason for failure to ascertain is that parties could not provide foreign law

Among 30 cases where courts failed to ascertain the exact foreign law, 16 cases were due to the failure to prove foreign law by parties. This shows that parties had difficulties to prove foreign law though many of them pleaded to apply. Even Alibaba, the biggest Internet company in China, failed to prove Cayman law, which they pleaded to apply in a trial.

3. Methods to ascertain foreign law and their respective adoption rate

Pursuant to Chinese law, the applicable foreign law may be ascertained in the following five ways: (1) provided by the litigant, (2) provided by the central organization of the country having entered into the judicial assistance treaty with China, (3) provided by Chinese embassy or consulates in that foreign country, (4) provided by foreign embassy or consulates in China, (5) provided by Chinese or foreign experts.

Among the 50 cases, the number of times each ascertainment method had been used and the number of cases where foreign law proved through such method had been adopted are as follows:

Methods of ascertainment Foreign experts Chinese experts Embassy /Consulate Litigants Treaties Academic papers, official publications and other supporting materials Internet
Number of usage 11 2 1 8 0 5 2
Number of adoption 5 2 1 4 0 4 1
Adoption rate 45% 100% 100% 50% 0 80% 50%

Chart 2

Conclusions from Chart 2:

(1) While “proof by parties” and “proof by foreign experts” are the most frequently used methods in the proof of foreign law, the likelihood of a foreign law, that was proved through such methods, to be adopted by Chinese courts remains the lowest.

(2) The ranking of the adoption rates among those methods is: (a) embassy or consulate / Chinese experts, (b) academic papers, (c) Internet, (d) litigants, (e) foreign experts.

4.Measures: platforms for discerning foreign law have been established 

At present, Chinese judges are still lacking convenient and efficient methods to ascertain foreign law. Due to high workloads and strict requirements on judges to close cases on time, Chinese judges tend to avoid consuming too much time and energy on ascertainment of foreign law, in order to reduce their workload and settle cases as soon as possible. Consequently, the judges are more willing to apply the lex fori (i.e. Chinese law) which they are much more familiar with, on the grounds that foreign law cannot be ascertained.

To solve this problem, China’s Supreme People’s Court (SPC) has been successively promoting relevant organizations to establish platforms for discerning foreign law, such as the “China Institution for Discerning Foreign Law” at China University of Political Science and Law. The SPC also recommend local courts nationwide to commission these platforms to ascertain foreign law.

Notes by CJO: Platforms for discerning foreign law recommended by the SPC have now begun to play their role. At the beginning of 2018, the Tianjin Maritime Court commissioned the “China Institution for Discerning Foreign Law” at China University of Political Science and Law to ascertain Mexican law concerning an insurance contract dispute. The expert who completed the ascertainment appeared in court and responded to inquiries.

 

 

If you would like to discuss with us about the post, or share your views and suggestions, please contact Ms. Meng Yu (meng.yu@chinajusticeobserver.com ).

If you wish to receive news and gain deep insights on Chinese judicial system, please feel free to subscribe to our newsletters (subscribe.chinajusticeobserver.com ).

Contributors: Guodong Du 杜国栋 , Meng Yu 余萌

Save as PDF

Comment