Observateur de la justice en Chine

??

AnglaisArabeChinois simplifié)NéerlandaisFrançaisAllemandHindiItalienJaponaisCoréenPortugaisRusseEspagnolSwedishStockingsHébreuIndonesianVietnamienThaiTurcMalai

Où déposer une demande d'exécution des jugements étrangers en Chine - Série Percée pour le recueil des jugements en Chine (VIII)

Soleil, 08 Mai 2022
Catégories: Plus d'infos
Rédacteur en chef: Yuan Yanchao 袁 燕 超

Avatar

Principales sorties:

  • Le résumé de la conférence 2021 fournit les règles supplémentaires sur la compétence en matière de reconnaissance et d'exécution des jugements étrangers en Chine.
  • Comme règle générale de compétence, le tribunal chinois du lieu où le défendeur est domicilié ou où se trouve le bien exécutoire est compétent.
  • Comme règle de compétence complémentaire, le tribunal chinois du lieu du domicile du demandeur est le tribunal compétent. Cette règle s'applique uniquement aux demandes de reconnaissance (et non d'exécution ou de reconnaissance et d'exécution simultanées) de jugements étrangers en Chine.
  • Le délai pour déposer une contestation juridictionnelle est de 15 jours pour les répondants domiciliés en Chine et de 30 jours pour ceux qui ne sont pas domiciliés en Chine.

Actualités en lien :

 

La Chine a publié une politique judiciaire historique sur l'exécution des jugements étrangers en 2022, ouvrant une nouvelle ère pour le recouvrement des jugements en Chine.

La politique judiciaire est le « Résumé de la conférence du Symposium sur les procès commerciaux et maritimes liés à l'étranger des tribunaux nationaux » (ci-après le « Résumé de la conférence 2021 », 全国法院涉外商事海事审判工作座谈会会议纪要) publié par l'Assemblée populaire suprême de Chine. Cour (CPS) le 31 déc. 2021.

En tant que membre de 'Série Percée pour le recueil des jugements en Chine’, this post introduces Articles 34 and 38 of the 2021 Conference Summary, which provides supplementary rules on the jurisdiction of Chinese courts in cases of recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

I. Où déposer une demande en Chine, et auprès de quel tribunal compétent ?

Textes du résumé de la conférence 2021

Article 34 du Résumé de la Conférence de 2021 [Règle complémentaire de compétence - le Tribunal du lieu du domicile du Requérant] :

« Lorsqu'un demandeur demande la reconnaissance d'un jugement ou d'une décision d'un tribunal étranger, mais que le défendeur n'a pas de domicile sur le territoire de la Chine et que ses biens ne se trouvent pas sur le territoire de la Chine, la demande peut relever de la compétence du peuple intermédiaire. tribunal du lieu où le demandeur a son domicile ».

Interprétations

1. Le Résumé de la Conférence 2021 fournit une règle supplémentaire sur la compétence des tribunaux chinois en matière de reconnaissance et d'exécution des jugements étrangers.

2. Règle générale de compétence : le tribunal du lieu du domicile du défendeur ou du lieu du bien exécutoire est compétent.

En règle générale en matière de compétence, le demandeur doit demander la reconnaissance et l'exécution du jugement étranger au tribunal du lieu du domicile du défendeur ou du lieu où se trouve le bien exécutoire.

Pour être plus précis, en vertu de cette règle, dans les cas où le demandeur souhaite demander simultanément la reconnaissance et l'exécution de jugements étrangers :

(1) lorsque le défendeur a un domicile en Chine, le tribunal intermédiaire du lieu où le défendeur est domicilié peut être compétent pour connaître de l'affaire ; ou alors

(2) lorsque les biens exécutoires du défendeur sont situés en Chine, le tribunal intermédiaire du lieu où se trouvent les biens peut également être compétent pour connaître de l'affaire.

Si le défendeur et ses biens ne se trouvent pas en Chine, le tribunal chinois ne peut pas prendre de véritables mesures d'exécution et n'admettra donc pas les affaires impliquant l'exécution.

3. Règle de compétence complémentaire : le tribunal du lieu du domicile du demandeur

Si le demandeur souhaite uniquement demander la reconnaissance d'un jugement étranger - tel qu'un jugement de divorce - et n'implique pas l'exécution de ce jugement, ce cas n'impliquera pas l'exécution effective par le tribunal chinois. Dans de tels cas, la règle de compétence complémentaire peut s'appliquer, qui attribue compétence au tribunal du lieu du domicile du demandeur.

En d'autres termes, si le demandeur demande la reconnaissance d'un jugement étranger uniquement, mais que le défendeur n'a pas de domicile en Chine et que ses biens ne se trouvent pas non plus en Chine, ils peuvent relever de la compétence du tribunal populaire intermédiaire du lieu où le demandeur est domicilié.

II. Comment contester la compétence du tribunal chinois ?

Textes du résumé de la conférence 2021

Article 38 du Résumé de la Conférence 2021 [Défi juridictionnel] :

« Après que le tribunal populaire a accepté une demande de reconnaissance et d'exécution d'un jugement ou d'une décision d'un tribunal étranger, si le défendeur conteste la compétence, le défendeur doit déposer la contestation dans les 15 jours à compter de la date de réception de la copie de la demande ; lorsque le défendeur n'a pas de domicile sur le territoire de la Chine, la contestation doit être déposée dans les 30 jours suivant la date de réception de la copie de la demande.

Le tribunal populaire examine et statue sur l'exception d'incompétence formée par le défendeur. Si la partie n'est pas satisfaite de la décision rendue sur l'exception d'incompétence, elle peut interjeter appel. »

Interprétations

1. Délai de dépôt d'une contestation juridictionnelle

Si le défendeur estime que le tribunal chinois n'est pas compétent pour connaître de la demande de reconnaissance et d'exécution du jugement étranger, il doit déposer la contestation dans un délai déterminé. Spécifiquement:

(1) lorsque le défendeur a son domicile sur le territoire de la Chine, il doit déposer une telle contestation dans les 15 jours suivant la date de réception de la copie de la demande ;

(2) lorsque le défendeur n'a pas de domicile sur le territoire de la Chine, la contestation doit être déposée dans les 30 jours à compter de la date de réception de la copie de la demande.

La période de 15 jours est conforme au délai de dépôt d'une contestation de compétence dans d'autres affaires civiles en Chine. Le délai de 30 jours est toutefois une exception prévue pour les répondants qui ne sont pas domiciliés en Chine, afin qu'ils puissent avoir suffisamment de temps pour traiter les affaires transfrontalières.

2. Examen d'une contestation juridictionnelle

Le tribunal chinois rendra une décision après avoir examiné l'exception de compétence déposée par le défendeur. La décision est susceptible d'appel.

En Chine, contester la compétence du tribunal et faire appel de sa décision sont des stratégies courantes utilisées par les accusés/intimés pour retarder la procédure. Les tribunaux chinois n'en sont pas satisfaits et tentent de limiter les contestations juridictionnelles dans lesquelles le litige est clairement retardé de mauvaise foi. Néanmoins, de telles stratégies sont encore courantes dans la pratique.

Par conséquent, le demandeur doit être conscient que le défendeur peut également adopter des stratégies similaires dans les cas de reconnaissance et d'exécution de jugements étrangers.

 

Photo par Réseau local on Unsplash

Contributeurs: Guodong Du杜国栋 , Meng Yu 余 萌

Enregistrer au format PDF

Vous pourriez aussi aimer

China Justice Observer

中司观察

EnglishArabicChinese (Simplified)DutchFrenchGermanHindiItalianJapaneseKoreanPortugueseRussianSpanishSwedishHebrewIndonesianVietnameseThaiTurkishMalay

Where to File Application for Enforcing Foreign Judgments in China - Breakthrough for Collecting Judgments in China Series (VIII)

Sun, 08 May 2022
Categories: Insights

avatar

Key takeaways:

  • The 2021 Conference Summary provides the supplementary rules on jurisdiction in cases of the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments in China.
  • As the general rule of jurisdiction, the Chinese court of the place where the respondent is domiciled or where the enforceable property is located has the jurisdiction.
  • As a supplementary jurisdiction rule, the Chinese court at the place of the applicant’s domicile is the competent court. This rule applies only for applications for recognition (rather than enforcement or recognition and enforcement concurrently) of foreign judgments in China.
  • The time limit for filing a jurisdictional challenge is 15 days for respondents domiciled in China, and 30 days for those not domiciled in China.

Related Posts:

 

China published a landmark judicial policy on the enforcement of foreign judgments in 2022, embarking on a new era for judgment collection in China.

The judicial policy is the “Conference Summary of the Symposium on Foreign-related Commercial and Maritime Trials of Courts Nationwide” (hereinafter the “2021 Conference Summary”, 全国法院涉外商事海事审判工作座谈会会议纪要) issued by the China’s Supreme People’s Court (SPC) on 31 Dec. 2021.

As part of the ‘Breakthrough for Collecting Judgments in China Series’, this post introduces Articles 34 and 38 of the 2021 Conference Summary, which provides supplementary rules on the jurisdiction of Chinese courts in cases of recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

I. Where to file an application in China, and with which competent court?

Texts of the 2021 Conference Summary

Article 34 of the 2021 Conference Summary [Supplementary Jurisdiction Rule -the Court at the Place of the Applicant’s Domicile]:

“Where an applicant applies for recognizing a judgment or ruling of a foreign court, but the respondent has no domicile within the territory of China, and its property is not within the territory of China, the application may come under the jurisdiction of the intermediate people’s court of the place where the applicant has his domicile.”

Interpretations

1. The 2021 Conference Summary provides a supplementary rule on the jurisdiction of Chinese courts in cases of recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

2. General jurisdiction rule: the court of the place where the respondent is domiciled or where the enforceable property is located has the jurisdiction.

As the general rule on jurisdiction, the applicant shall apply for recognition and enforcement of the foreign judgment to the court in the place where the respondent is domiciled or where the enforceable property is located.

To be more specific, under this rule, in cases where the applicant wishes to apply for recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments concurrently:

(1) where the respondent has a domicile in China, the intermediate court in the place where the Respondent is domiciled may have jurisdiction over the case; or

(2) where the enforceable property of the respondent is located in China, the intermediate court in the place where the property is located may also have jurisdiction over the case.

If the respondent and his/her property are not in China, the Chinese court cannot take actual enforcement actions and thus will not admit cases involving enforcement.

3. Supplementary jurisdiction rule: the court at the place of the applicant’s domicile

If the applicant only wishes to apply for recognition of a foreign judgment – such as a divorce judgment – and does not involve the enforcement of that judgment, such case will not involve actual enforcement by the Chinese court. In such cases, the supplementary jurisdictional rule can apply, which grants jurisdiction to the court at the place of the applicant’s domicile.

In other words, if the applicant applies for recognition of foreign judgment only, but the respondent has no domicile in China, and his/her property is not in China either, it can be under the jurisdiction of the intermediate people’s court in the place where the applicant is domiciled.

II. How to challenge the jurisdiction of the Chinese court?

Texts of the 2021 Conference Summary

Article 38 of the 2021 Conference Summary [Jurisdictional Challenge]:

“After the people’s court has accepted an application for recognition and enforcement of a judgment or ruling of a foreign court, if the respondent challenges the jurisdiction, the respondent shall file the challenge within 15 days upon the date of receiving the application copy; where the respondent has no domicile within the territory of China, the challenge shall be filed within 30 days upon the date of receipt of the application copy.

The people’s court shall examine and render a ruling on the jurisdictional challenge filed by the respondent. If the party is not satisfied with the ruling on the jurisdictional challenge, he may file an appeal.”

Interpretations

1. Time limit for filing a jurisdictional challenge

If the respondent considers that the Chinese court has no jurisdiction over the application for recognition and enforcement of the foreign judgment, he/she should file the challenge within a specified time limit. Specifically:

(1) where the respondent has domicile within the territory of China, he/she shall file such challenge within 15 days upon the date of receipt of the application copy;

(2) where the respondent has no domicile within the territory of China, the challenge shall be filed within 30 days from the date of receipt of the application copy.

The 15-day period is in line with the time limit for filing a jurisdictional challenge in other civil litigation cases in China. The 30-day period, however, is an exception provided for the respondents who are not domiciled in China, so that they can have enough time to deal with cross-border affairs.

2. Examination of a jurisdictional challenge

The Chinese court shall render a ruling after examining the jurisdictional challenge filed by the respondent. The ruling is subject to appeal.

In China, challenging the court’s jurisdiction and appealing its ruling are common strategies used by the defendants/respondents to delay the proceedings. Chinese courts are not happy with this and attempt to restrict those jurisdictional challenges in which the litigation is clearly delayed in bad faith. Nevertheless, such strategies are still common in practice.

Therefore, the applicant needs to be aware that the respondent may also adopt similar strategies in cases of recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

 

 

Photo by Lan Lin on Unsplash

Contributors: Guodong Du 杜国栋 , Meng Yu 余萌

Save as PDF

You might also like

How Chinese Judges Recognize Foreign Bankruptcy Judgments

In 2021, Xiamen Maritime Court ruled, based on the principle of reciprocity, to recognize the order of the High Court of Singapore, which designated an insolvency officeholder. The trial Judge shares his view on reciprocity review in applications for recognition of foreign bankruptcy judgments.

Washington State Recognizes Chinese Judgment for the First Time

In 2021, the Superior Court of Washington for King County ruled to recognize a judgment of a Beijing local court, marking the first time for a Washington state court, and the sixth time for a US court, to recognize and enforce Chinese monetary judgments (Yun Zhang v. Rainbow USA Investments LLC, Zhiwen Yang et al., Case No. 20-2-14429-1 SEA).

The Third Time! Chinese Court Recognizes U.S. Judgment

In 2020, Ningbo Intermediate People’s Court of China ruled in Wen v. Huang et al. (2018) to recognize and enforce a US judgment, marking the third time that American monetary judgments have been enforced in China.