مراقب العدل الصيني

中 司 观察

الانجليزيةالعربيهالصينية المبسطة)الهولنديةالفرنسيةالألمانيّةالهنديةالإيطاليةاليابانيّةالكوريّةالبرتغاليّةالروسيةإسبانيالسويديةالعبريةالأندونيسيةالفيتناميةالتايلانديةالتركيةالملايوية

لاند روفر ضد Jiangling: تصدر المحكمة الصينية حكمًا نهائيًا

السبت، 11 سبتمبر 2021
المساهمين: جودونج دو 杜国栋
رئيس التحرير: يانرو تشين 陈彦茹

الصورة الرمزية

الوجبات الرئيسية:

  • منذ عام 2014 ، تدعي Land Rover أن Lufeng X7 من Jiangling قامت بنسخ تصميم Range Rover Evoque وأطلقت سلسلة من الإجراءات القانونية ضد Jiangling.
  • في مايو 2021 ، أصدرت محكمة بكين للملكية الفكرية أحكامًا نهائية تؤكد أن Jiangling قد ارتكبت أفعال انتهاك من خلال الانخراط في منافسة غير عادلة.

في الحكم النهائي الصادر في مايو 2021 ، وجدت محكمة صينية أن شركة Jiangling Motors Co.، Ltd. شاركت في منافسة غير عادلة من خلال إنتاج وبيع Lufeng X7 والتي كانت مشابهة لسيارة رينج روفر إيفوك من Land Rover.

وتتعلق القضية باستئناف من المدعي Jaguar Land Rover Ltd. ("Land Rover") والمدعى عليه Jiangling Holdings Co.، Ltd. ("Jiangling").

طورت لاند روفر سيارة رينج روفر إيفوك التي تتمتع بسمعة عالمية. طورت Jiangling Lufeng X7 ، وهو أيضًا منتج مشهور في الصين.

منذ عام 2014 ، تدعي Land Rover أن Lufeng X7 من Jiangling قامت بنسخ تصميم Range Rover Evoque وأطلقت سلسلة من الإجراءات القانونية ضد Jiangling.

أصدرت محكمة بكين للملكية الفكرية حكما نهائيا في القضية ، مؤكدا أن Jiangling قد ارتكبت أفعال التعدي.

1. خلفية القضية

في عام 2016 ، رفعت شركة Land Rover دعوى قضائية ضد المنافسة غير العادلة أمام محكمة الشعب بمنطقة بكين تشاويانغ ("محكمة تشاويانغ").

في الدعوى القضائية ، جادلت لاند روفر بأن سيارة Lufeng X7 من Jiangling لا يمكن تمييزها بصريًا عن طراز Range Rover Evoque ، مما قد يؤدي بسهولة إلى ارتباك المستهلك وبالتالي التسبب في أضرار كبيرة لجاكوار لاند روفر. شكل إنتاج وبيع وتسويق طراز Lufeng X7 من قبل Jiangling وشركة المبيعات التابعة لها منافسة غير عادلة لاستخدام نفس الشعار أو شعار مشابه مع زخرفة Land Rover المؤثرة دون إذن.

وفقًا لذلك ، طلبت لاند روفر من شركة Jiangling وشركة المبيعات التابعة لها التوقف فورًا عن إنتاج طراز Lufeng X7 وعرضه وبيعه المسبق وبيعه ، وتعويض 1.5 مليون يوان صيني.

في غضون ذلك ، رفعت Land Rover أيضًا دعوى قضائية تتعلق بانتهاك حقوق الطبع والنشر إلى محكمة الشعب في منطقة بكين تشاويانغ للأسباب نفسها ، بحجة أن نموذج Lufeng X7 من Jiangling ينتهك حقوق الطبع والنشر الخاصة بها.

في عام 2019 ، أصدرت محكمة تشاويانغ الأحكام الابتدائية بشكل منفصل في قضية مكافحة المنافسة غير العادلة وقضية التعدي على حق المؤلف. في قضية مكافحة المنافسة غير العادلة ، أيدت محكمة تشاويانغ مطالبة Land Rover ، ويمكن العثور على قرارها في الحكم المدني "(2015) Chao Min Chu No.10383" (2015) 朝 民初 10383 号). في غضون ذلك ، رفضت محكمة تشاويانغ مطالبة Land Rover في قضية انتهاك حقوق الطبع والنشر ، ويمكن العثور على قرارها في الحكم المدني "(2015) Chao Min Chu No. 10384" (2015) 朝 民初 10384 号).

في قضية مكافحة المنافسة غير العادلة ، أيدت محكمة تشاويانغ مطالبة Land Rover على أرض الواقع بأن شركة Jiangling تشغل Lufeng X7 تشكل عملاً من أعمال المنافسة غير العادلة باستخدام نفس الشعار أو شعار مشابه مثل الزخرفة المؤثرة للآخرين دون إذن ، مما تسبب في حدوث ارتباك في السوق وألحق الضرر بالمصالح المشروعة وسمعة شركة Jaguar Land Rover. (انظر الحكم المدني (2015) تشاو مين تشو رقم 10383 (2015) 朝 民初 10383 号))

في حالة انتهاك حقوق الطبع والنشر ، رفضت محكمة تشاويانغ مطالبة شركة لاند رور ورأت أن مظهر طراز "رينج رور إيوك" لم يصل إلى مستوى الإبداع الفني المطلوب للعمل الفني ، ويفتقر إلى الأصالة ، لذا فهو لا ينتمي إلى عمل فني ولا تنتمي إلى أعمال الفن التطبيقي ، وبالتالي لا يمكنها المطالبة بحقوق النشر. (راجع الحكم المدني "(2015) Chao Min Chu No. 10384" (2015) 朝 民初 10384 号))

بعد ذلك ، استأنفت Jiangling قضية المنافسة غير العادلة ، بينما استأنفت Land Rover قضية انتهاك حقوق النشر.

في عام 2021 ، أصدرت محكمة بكين للملكية الفكرية أحكامًا من الدرجة الثانية (نهائية) في القضيتين المذكورتين أعلاه ، برفض الاستئناف وتأييد الأحكام الصادرة عن المحكمة الابتدائية. للحصول على حكم ثاني درجة في قضية المنافسة غير العادلة ، يرجى الرجوع إلى الحكم المدني "(2019) Jing 73 Min Zhong No. 2033" ((2019) 京 73 民 终 2033 号) ؛ بالنسبة للحكم الثاني في قضية انتهاك حقوق الطبع والنشر ، يرجى الرجوع إلى الحكم المدني "(2019) Jing 73 Min Zhong No.2034" ((2019) 京 73 民 终 2034 号).

ثانيًا. آراء المحكمة

في قضية مكافحة المنافسة غير العادلة ، رأت محكمة الدرجة الثانية أن "رينج رور إيوك" كانت مميزة بالفعل وأنشأت ارتباطًا ثابتًا بالسوق مع شركة لاند رور. تم الإعلان عن "رينج رور إيوك" والترويج لها على نطاق واسع ، واكتسبت زخارفها الشكلية شعبية وتأثيرًا معينين في الصين. كان استخدام Jiangling لسيارة Lufeng X7 كافياً لإحداث ارتباك للمستهلكين بينها وبين رينج روفر إيفوك. وأيدت محكمة الدرجة الثانية رأي المحكمة الابتدائية بأن مقاطعة Jiangling شكلت منافسة غير عادلة.

في حالة ارتكاب أفعال الانتهاك ، أصرت لاند روفر في الحالة الثانية على أن "رينج روفر إيفوك" كانت عملاً فنيًا بموجب قانون حقوق الطبع والنشر الصيني. اتفقت محكمة الدرجة الثانية مع المحكمة الابتدائية على أن مظهر رينج رور إيوك لا يفي بمعايير الأصالة المطلوبة للعمل الفني ، وبالتالي لا يشكل عملاً فنيًا.

ثالثا. تعليقاتنا

تلقى نزاع تصميم السيارات في قضية Land Rover v. Jiangling قدرًا كبيرًا من وسائل الإعلام الوطنية والدولية. يعتبر كلا الطرازين رائجين في الصين ، وبالتالي أثرا اهتمامًا واسع النطاق بين مجتمع المستهلكين.

تعد نسخة براءات الاختراع الخاصة بالتصميم من أكثر أنواع التعدي على حقوق الملكية الفكرية شيوعًا وهي الأكثر احتمالًا لإرباك المستهلك. يمكن للشركات الدولية التي تواجه انتهاكًا مشابهًا في الصين الرجوع إلى قضية Land Rover ضد Jiangling واللجوء إلى المحاكم الصينية بطريقة مماثلة.

 

تصوير بانغيو وانغ on Unsplash

المساهمين: جودونج دو 杜国栋

احفظ

قد يعجبك ايضا

حل نزاعات التجارة الإلكترونية عبر الحدود في عيون المحاكم الصينية

أدى ازدهار التجارة الإلكترونية عبر الحدود في الصين إلى زيادة مصاحبة في النزاعات العابرة للحدود بين المصدرين الصينيين ومنصات التجارة الإلكترونية الصينية والمستهلكين في الخارج ومنصات التجارة الإلكترونية الخارجية. شارك قضاة محكمة هانغتشو للإنترنت أفكارهم حول محاكمة قضايا التجارة الإلكترونية عبر الحدود.

كيف تجمع الشرطة والنيابة الصينية البيانات الإلكترونية في القضايا الجنائية؟

الاستيلاء على أجهزة التخزين الإلكترونية واستخراج البيانات الإلكترونية هما طريقتان نظاميتان. من الجدير بالذكر أيضًا أنه سيتم تطبيق مناهج مختلفة عندما يتعلق الأمر بجمع البيانات الإلكترونية الموجودة في الصين وتلك الموجودة خارج الصين.

ولاية واشنطن تعترف بالحكم الصيني لأول مرة

في عام 2021 ، قضت المحكمة العليا في واشنطن لمقاطعة كينج بالاعتراف بحكم صادر عن محكمة محلية في بكين ، وهي المرة الأولى لمحكمة ولاية واشنطن ، والمرة السادسة لمحكمة أمريكية تعترف بالأحكام النقدية الصينية وتنفذها (يون Zhang ضد Rainbow USA Investments LLC، Zhiwen Yang et al.، Case No. 20-2-14429-1 SEA).

الاعتراف الجزئي بأحكام الاحتيال في تأشيرة الولايات المتحدة بشأن تأشيرة المهاجر المستثمر EB-5 في الصين: الاعتراف بالأضرار وليس الأضرار العقابية

في عام 2022 ، قضت محكمة الشعب المتوسطة في قوانغتشو في الصين بالاعتراف جزئيًا وتنفيذ ثلاثة أحكام تتعلق بالاحتيال المتعلقة بتأشيرات EB-5 صادرة على التوالي من قبل محكمة المقاطعة الأمريكية للمنطقة المركزية لولاية كاليفورنيا والمحكمة العليا في كاليفورنيا ، مقاطعة لوس أنجلوس.

China Justice Observer

中国司法观察

EnglishArabicChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)DutchFrenchGermanItalianJapaneseKoreanPortugueseRussianSpanishSwedishHebrewIndonesianVietnameseThaiTurkishMalay

Land Rover v. Jiangling: Chinese Court Renders Final Judgment

Sat, 11 Sep 2021
Categories: Insights

avatar

Key takeaways:

  • Since 2014, Land Rover has been claiming that Jiangling’s Lufeng X7 copied the design of Range Rover Evoque and has launched a series of legal actions against Jiangling.
  • In May 2021, Beijing Intellectual Property Court issued the final judgments, confirming that Jiangling had committed acts of infringement by engaging in unfair competition.

In the final judgment rendered in May 2021, a Chinese Court found that Jiangling Motors Co., Ltd. engaged in unfair competition by producing and selling Lufeng X7 which was similar to Land Rover’s Range Rover Evoque.

The case involved appeals by the plaintiff Jaguar Land Rover Ltd. (“Land Rover”) and the defendant Jiangling Holdings Co., Ltd. (“Jiangling”).

Land Rover developed the Range Rover Evoque, which has a worldwide reputation. Jiangling developed the Lufeng X7, which is also a popular product in China.

Since 2014, Land Rover has been claiming that Jiangling’s Lufeng X7 copied the design of Range Rover Evoque and has launched a series of legal actions against Jiangling.

The Beijing Intellectual Property Court issued a final judgment in the case, confirming that Jiangling had committed acts of infringement.

1. Case background

In 2016, Land Rover filed an anti-unfair competition lawsuit with the Beijing Chaoyang District People’s Court (“Chaoyang Court”).

In the lawsuit, Land Rover argued that Jiangling’s Lufeng X7 was visually indistinguishable from the Range Rover Evoque model, which could easily result in consumer confusion and thus cause great damage to Jaguar Land Rover. The production, sales, and marketing of the Lufeng X7 model by Jiangling and its sales company constituted an act of unfair competition of using the same or similar logo with Land Rover’s influential decoration without authorization.

Accordingly, Land Rover requested Jiangling and its sales company to immediately stop the production, display, pre-sale, and sale of the Lufeng X7 model, and compensate 1.5 million CNY.

In the meanwhile, Land Rover also filed a copyright infringement lawsuit with Beijing Chaoyang District People’s Court on the same grounds, arguing that Jiangling’s Lufeng X7 model infringed its copyright.

In 2019, the Chaoyang Court issued the first instance judgments separately on the anti-unfair competition case and the copyright infringement case. In the anti-unfair competition case, the Chaoyang Court upheld Land Rover’s claim, and its decision can be found in the civil judgment “(2015) Chao Min Chu No.10383” ((2015)朝民初10383号). In the meantime, the Chaoyang Court rejected Land Rover’s claim in the copyright infringement case, and its decision can be found in the civil judgment “(2015) Chao Min Chu No. 10384” ((2015)朝民初10384号).

In the anti-unfair competition case, the Chaoyang Court upheld Land Rover’s claim on the ground that Jiangling operating Lufeng X7 constituted an act of unfair competition by using the same or similar logo as others’ influential decoration without authorization, which caused confusion in the market and damaged the legitimate interests and business reputation of Jaguar Land Rover. (See the civil judgment (2015) Chao Min Chu No. 10383 ((2015)朝民初10383号))

In the case of copyright infringement, the Chaoyang Court rejected Land Rover’s claim and held that the appearance of the “Range Rover Evoque” model did not reach the level of artistic creation required for an artwork, and lacked originality, so it did not belong to an artwork; nor did it belong to the work of applied art, and thus it could not claim copyright. (See the civil judgment “(2015) Chao Min Chu No. 10384” ((2015)朝民初10384号))

Thereafter, Jiangling appealed the anti-unfair competition case, while Land Rover appealed the copyright infringement case.

In 2021, the Beijing Intellectual Property Court issued the second instance (the final) judgments of the two aforementioned cases, rejecting the appeals and upholding the judgments of the court of the first instance. For the second instance judgment in the anti-unfair competition case, please refer to the civil judgment “(2019) Jing 73 Min Zhong No. 2033” ((2019)京73民终2033号); for the second instance judgment in the copyright infringement case, please refer to the civil judgment “(2019) Jing 73 Min Zhong No.2034” ((2019)京73民终2034号).

II. Court views

In the anti-unfair competition case, the court of the second instance held that the “Range Rover Evoque” was already distinctive and had established a stable market link with Land Rover. The “Range Rover Evoque” was widely advertised and promoted, and its shape decorations had gained certain popularity and influence in China. Jiangling’s use of the Lufeng X7 car was sufficient to cause consumer confusion between itself and Range Rover Evoque. The court of the second instance upheld the view of the court of first instance that Jiangling had constituted unfair competition.

In the case of commit acts of infringement, Land Rover insisted in the second instance that the “Range Rover Evoque” was an artwork under the Chinese Copyright Law. The court of the second instance agreed with the court of the first instance that the appearance of the Range Rover Evoque did not meet the standard of originality required for an artwork, and therefore did not constitute an artwork.

III. Our comments

The automobile design dispute in Land Rover v. Jiangling has received considerable national and international media. Both models are hot sellers in China and thus have generated widespread interest among the consumer community.

The copy of design patents is one of the most common types of IP infringement and is the most likely to cause consumer confusion. International companies that encounter similar infringement in China can refer to Land Rover v. Jiangling and resort to Chinese courts in a similar way.

 

Photo by Bangyu Wang on Unsplash

Contributors: Guodong Du 杜国栋

Save as PDF

You might also like

How Do Chinese Courts Ascertain Workplace Sexual Harassment?

While Chinese law criminalizes sexual assault with a clear definition, sexual harassment lacks a clear delineation. Taking the courts in Shanghai as an example, we may know a thing or two about how sexual harassment is determined in judicial practice.