مراقب العدل الصيني

中 司 观察

الانجليزيةالعربيهالصينية المبسطة)الهولنديةالفرنسيةالألمانيّةالهنديةالإيطاليةاليابانيّةالكوريّةالبرتغاليّةالروسيةإسبانيالسويديةالعبريةالأندونيسيةالفيتناميةالتايلانديةالتركيةالملايوية

أول محكمة صينية تقر حكم إفلاس سنغافورة

الأحد، 26 يونيو 2022
رئيس التحرير: يوان يانتشاو 袁 燕 超

الصورة الرمزية

مفتاح الوجبات الجاهزة:

  • في أغسطس 2021 ، قضت محكمة شيامن البحرية ، بناءً على مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل ، بالاعتراف بأمر المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة ، التي عينت صاحب مكتب الإعسار (انظر بشأن Xihe Holdings Pte. المحدودة وآخرون. (2020) Min 72 Min Chu No. 334 ((2020) 闽 72 民初 334 号)) ، وهي المرة الأولى التي تعترف فيها محكمة صينية بحكم إفلاس في سنغافورة.
  • قدمت هذه القضية مثالاً على كيفية اعتراف المحاكم الصينية بأحكام الإعسار الأجنبية بناءً على مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل بموجب قانون إفلاس المؤسسات في الصين.
  • يمكن اعتبار وجود علاقة متبادلة بين الصين وسنغافورة في مسائل الإفلاس. بعبارة أخرى ، من العدل أن نقول إن الأحكام أو الأحكام السنغافورية التي يمكن للمحاكم الصينية الاعتراف بها على أساس المعاملة بالمثل لم تعد تقتصر على الأحكام المالية في القضايا التجارية المنصوص عليها في MOG.
  • فيما يتعلق بحامل مكتب الإعسار المعين من قبل اجتماعات الشركات الدائنة ، وليس من قبل محكمة أجنبية ، يتعين على المحكمة الصينية فحص وتأكيد هويته / هويتها وأهليتها وفقًا للقوانين في مكان تأسيس الشركة الأجنبية.

في 18 أغسطس 2021 ، قضت محكمة شيامن البحرية ، بناءً على مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل ، بالاعتراف بأمر المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة ، التي عينت صاحب مكتب الإعسار (انظر بشأن Xihe Holdings Pte. المحدودة وآخرون. (2020) Min 72 Min Chu No. 334 ((2020) 闽 72 民初 334 号)).

على حد علمنا ، هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تعترف فيها محكمة صينية بحكم إفلاس في سنغافورة ، والذي يقدم مثالًا على كيفية اعتراف المحاكم الصينية بأحكام الإعسار الأجنبية القائمة على المعاملة بالمثل.

علاوة على ذلك ، لم تشر محكمة شيامن البحرية إلى الصين - سنغافورةمذكرة إرشادية بشأن الاعتراف بالأحكام المالية وتنفيذها في القضايا التجارية ("MOG") في حكمها ، والتي تؤكد إلى حد ما أن MOG لا تنطبق إلا على الأحكام المالية في القضايا التجارية ، باستثناء مسائل الإفلاس (الإعسار).

لمحة عامة عن الحالة

كانت شركة Xihe Holdings (Pte) Ltd ("Xihe") هي المدعى عليها في دعوى قضائية نظرت فيها محكمة شيامن البحرية. في الدعوى القضائية ، أُمر Xihe بالخضوع لعملية الإعسار وإعادة التنظيم بموجب الأمر رقم HC / ORC 6341/2020 والأمر رقم HC / ORC2696 / 2021 الصادر عن المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة ، و Paresh Tribhovan Jotangia (" Jotangia ") بصفته صاحب مكتب الإعسار في Xihe.

بعد ذلك ، تقدم Jotangia بطلب إلى محكمة Xiamen البحرية لتأكيد صفته بصفته صاحب مكتب الإعسار وللتأكيد كذلك على أنه قد يستعين بمحامين صينيين لشركة Xihe بصفته صاحب مكتب إعسار.

ترى محكمة شيامن البحرية أن الطلب ينطوي على الاعتراف بحكم الإفلاس الأجنبي وتنفيذه ، واستنادًا إلى مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل ، فإنها تعترف بالحكم السالف الذكر الصادر عن المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة ، وبالتالي تعترف بقدرة Jotangia بصفتها صاحب مكتب الإعسار.

ثانيًا. حقائق القضية

رفع المدعي ، Fujian Huadong Shipyard Co.، Ltd. ، دعوى قضائية في محكمة شيامن البحرية ضد Ocean Tankers Pte Ltd و Xihe Holdings (Pte) Ltd و Xin Bo Shipping (Pte) Ltd. ("Xin Bo"). تتضمن الدعوى نزاعًا على عقد صيانة للسفينة. يشار إلى Xihe و Xin Bo فيما يلي مجتمعين باسم "المدعى عليهم".

في 13 نوفمبر 2020 ، وفقًا لحكم المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة ، مر المدعى عليه ، Xihei ، بعملية الإعسار وإعادة التنظيم وتم تعيين Jotangia كمسؤول الإعسار.

في 19 مارس 2021 ، عين المدعى عليه ، شين بو ، شركة Jotangia بصفتها صاحبة مكتب الإعسار في اجتماع دائنيها.

وبناءً على ذلك ، قامت Jotangia بدور صاحب مكتب الإعسار لكلا المدعى عليهما.

عينت Jotangia ، بصفتها صاحبة مكتب الإعسار ، محامًا صينيًا للعمل كوكيل مخصص للمدعى عليهما في القضية التي تنطوي على نزاع بشأن عقد صيانة السفينة سالف الذكر.

تقدم Jotangia بطلب إلى محكمة Xiamen Maritime لتأكيد صفته بصفته صاحب مكتب الإعسار وللتأكيد كذلك على أنه قد يستعين بمحامين صينيين لـ Xihe بصفته صاحب مكتب إعسار.

في 18 أغسطس 2021 ، قضت محكمة شيامن البحرية بالاعتراف بحكم المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة فيما يتعلق بصاحب مكتب الإعسار في Xihe ، وبناءً عليه اعترفت بـ Jotangia بصفتها صاحب مكتب الإعسار في Xihe.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أكدت محكمة شيامن البحرية شرعية تعيين Jotangia بصفته صاحب مكتب الإعسار لـ Xin Bo في اجتماع الدائنين لـ Xin Bo وفقًا لقانون إعادة هيكلة الإعسار وحلها في سنغافورة لعام 2018 ، وبناءً عليه أكدت Jotangia بصفتها صاحب مكتب الإعسار لشركة Xin. بو.

ثالثا. آراء المحكمة

1 - تؤكد على صاحب مكتب الإعسار الذي عينته المحكمة السنغافورية فيما يتعلق بالاعتراف بالأحكام وإنفاذها.

أولاً ، تخضع القضايا المتعلقة بالاعتراف بأحكام الإفلاس الأجنبية وتنفيذها لقانون إفلاس المؤسسات الصيني.

وفقًا للفقرة 2 من المادة 5 من قانون إفلاس المؤسسات في الصين ، حيث يكون الحكم أو الحكم النافذ قانونًا بشأن قضية إفلاس صادرة عن محكمة أجنبية يتعلق بممتلكات المدين داخل أراضي الصين ، وطلب أو طلب الاعتراف و يتم تقديم تنفيذ الحكم أو الحكم إلى المحكمة ، وتفحص المحكمة الطلب أو الطلب وفقًا للمعاهدة الدولية التي أبرمتها الصين أو انضمت إليها أو مع مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل. عندما ترى المحكمة أن القانون لا ينتهك المبادئ الأساسية للقوانين الصينية ، ولا يضر بسيادة الصين وأمنها ومصالحها العامة ، ولا يضر بالحقوق والمصالح المشروعة للدائنين داخل أراضي الصين ، فإنه يتعين عليها قاعدة للتعرف على الحكم أو الحكم وتنفيذه.

متطلبات المحاكم الصينية للاعتراف بأحكام الإفلاس الصادرة عن المحاكم الأجنبية وتنفيذها هي في الأساس نفس متطلبات الاعتراف بالأحكام المدنية والتجارية الأخرى للمحاكم الأجنبية وفقًا لـ قانون الإجراءات المدنية لجمهورية الصين الشعبية (CPL).

ثانيًا ، يؤكد مكتب الإعسار المعين من قبل محكمة أجنبية ، وبعبارة أخرى ، يعترف بالحكم أو الحكم المعمول به الصادر عن المحكمة الأجنبية.

من خلال التقدم بطلب التأكيد بصفته صاحب مكتب الإعسار في Xihe ، تقدم Jotangia فعليًا طلبًا إلى المحكمة الصينية للاعتراف بأمر المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة لتعيينه كمسؤول الإعسار.

لذلك ، يجب على المحكمة الصينية النظر في الطلب وفقًا لقانون إفلاس المؤسسات المذكور أعلاه.

ثالثًا ، أقامت الصين وسنغافورة علاقة متبادلة في الاعتراف بالأحكام المدنية والتجارية وتنفيذها ، بما في ذلك أحكام الإفلاس.

في يناير 2014 ، أصدرت المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة حكمًا رقم [2014] SGHC16 ، يعترف وينفذ الحكم المدني الصادر عن محكمة الشعب المتوسطة في سوتشو بمقاطعة جيانغسو ، الصين (انظر شركة Giant Light Metal Technology (Kunshan) Co Ltd ضد Aksa Far East Pte Ltd [2014] SGHC 16).

في 9 ديسمبر 2016 ، أكدت محكمة الشعب المتوسطة في نانجينغ في مقاطعة جيانغسو العلاقة المتبادلة بين الصين وسنغافورة بناءً على القضية المذكورة أعلاه ، وبناءً عليه اعترفت بالحكم الصادر عن المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة. كما أنها المرة الأولى التي تعترف فيها محكمة صينية بحكم أجنبي على أساس مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل (انظر Kolmar Group AG ضد شركة Jiangsu Textile Industry (Group) Import & Export Co.، Ltd. (2016) Su 01 Xie Wai Ren No. 3 ((2016) 苏 01 协 外 认 3 号)).

في 2 أغسطس 2019 ، اعترفت محكمة الشعب المتوسطة في ونتشو في مقاطعة تشجيانغ مرة أخرى بالحكم الذي أصدرته المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة (انظر Oceanside Development Group Ltd. ضد Chen Tongkao & Chen Xiudan (2017) Zhe 03 Xie Wai Ren No. 7 ((2017) 浙 03 协 外 认 7 号)).

للحصول على مناقشة مفصلة ، انظر المنشور السابق "ثانية! المحكمة الصينية تقر حكم سنغافورة'.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، في 10 يونيو 2020 ، أصدر القاضي Vinodh Coomaraswamy من المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة أمرًا يؤكد الحكم المتعلق بإجراءات الإعسار ، "(2016) 01 Po No. 8 ((2016) 01 破 8)" ، الصادر عن محكمة نانجينغ الشعبية المتوسطة بمقاطعة جيانغسو.

وبالتالي ، وفقًا لمبدأ المعاملة بالمثل ، يجوز للمحاكم الصينية أن تعترف بالأحكام والأحكام المدنية وتنفذها التي تستوفي شروطًا محددة ، بما في ذلك أحكام الإفلاس ، والتي تصدرها المحاكم السنغافورية.

2. يؤكد تعيين صاحب مكتب الإعسار في اجتماع دائني الشركة ، مع مراعاة القانون الحاكم.

وفقًا للفقرة 1 من المادة 14 من الصين قانون تطبيق قانون العلاقات الخارجية المتعلقة بالخارج ، تسري القوانين في مكان التسجيل على مسائل مثل الأهلية للحقوق المدنية ، والأهلية للسلوك المدني ، والهيكل التنظيمي ، وحقوق والتزامات المساهمين للشخص الاعتباري وفرعه (فروعه).

لذلك ، فيما يتعلق بصاحب مكتب الإعسار المعين من قبل اجتماعات الشركات الدائنة ، وليس من قبل محكمة أجنبية ، يتعين على المحكمة الصينية فحص وتأكيد هويته / أهليتها وأهليتها وفقًا للقوانين المعمول بها في مكان تأسيس الشركة الأجنبية.

وبناءً على ذلك ، قررت محكمة شيامن البحرية أنه ينبغي تطبيق قوانين سنغافورة. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، تأكدت من سنغافورة 2018 قانون إعادة هيكلة وحل الإعسار ("القانون") ودرس شرعية تعيين أصحاب مكاتب الإعسار من خلال اجتماعات الشركات الدائنة بموجب القانون.

رابعا. تعليقاتنا

في يوليو 2021 ، قبل شهر واحد من هذه القضية ، اعترفت محكمة صينية بحكم سنغافوري ، تضمن نزاعات قروض ، على أساس المعاملة بالمثل. ذكرت المحكمة وزارة العدل في حكمها. (انظر مقالنا السابق "محكمة صينية تعترف بالحكم السنغافوري مرة أخرى: لا معاهدة ثانية ولكن فقط مذكرة؟".)

بينما في هذه الحالة ، لم تذكر محكمة Xiamen Maritime MOG لأن MOG لا تنطبق إلا على الأحكام المالية في القضايا التجارية ، باستثناء مسائل الإفلاس.

ومع ذلك ، فإنه لا يؤثر على قرار المحكمة الصينية بتكوين علاقة متبادلة مع نظرائهم السنغافوريين بشأن الأحكام ، بخلاف الأحكام المالية ، في القضايا التجارية.

كما يتضح من هذه القضية والحكم السابق الذي أصدرته المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة في عام 2020 ، والذي يؤكد إجراءات الإفلاس في الصين ، يمكن اعتبار وجود علاقة متبادلة بين الصين وسنغافورة في مسائل الإفلاس.

وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن الأحكام أو الأحكام التي يمكن للمحاكم الصينية الاعتراف بها على أساس المعاملة بالمثل لم تعد تقتصر على الأحكام المالية في القضايا التجارية المنصوص عليها في وزارة النفط والغاز. كما أن MOG ليست المورد الحصري الذي قد ننظر فيه بشأن الاعتراف بالأحكام وتنفيذها بين الصين وسنغافورة.

 

 

 

 

المساهمين: جودونج دو 杜国栋 , منغ يو 余 萌

احفظ

قد يعجبك ايضا

كيفية استخدام رسائل البريد الإلكتروني كدليل في التقاضي في الصين؟ -سلسلة CTD 101

البريد الإلكتروني هو أداة الاتصال الرئيسية في المعاملات عبر الحدود. من الشائع ، على سبيل المثال ، إبرام العديد من العقود التجارية الدولية أو تعديلها أو تنفيذها أو إنهاؤها مباشرة عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني.

China Justice Observer

中司观察

EnglishArabicChinese (Simplified)DutchFrenchGermanHindiItalianJapaneseKoreanPortugueseRussianSpanishSwedishHebrewIndonesianVietnameseThaiTurkishMalay

The First Time Chinese Court Recognizes Singapore Bankruptcy Judgment

Sun, 26 Jun 2022
Categories: Insights

avatar

Key takeaway:

  • In August 2021, Xiamen Maritime Court ruled, based on the principle of reciprocity, to recognize order of the High Court of Singapore, which designated an insolvency officeholder (see In re Xihe Holdings Pte. Ltd. et al. (2020) Min 72 Min Chu No. 334 ((2020)闽72民初334号)), marking the first time that a Chinese court has recognized a Singapore bankruptcy judgment.
  • This case provided an example of how Chinese courts recognize foreign insolvency judgments based on the principle of reciprocity under the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law of China.
  • A reciprocal relationship can be considered to have existed between China and Singapore in bankruptcy matters. In other words, it is fair to say that the Singapore judgments or rulings that Chinese courts can recognize based on reciprocity are no longer limited to money judgments in commercial cases stated in MOG.
  • In terms of the insolvency officeholder appointed by corporate creditors’ meetings, rather than by a foreign court, the Chinese court shall examine and confirm his/her identity and capacity in accordance with the laws at the place of incorporation of the foreign company.

On 18 Aug. 2021, Xiamen Maritime Court ruled, based on the principle of reciprocity, to recognize the order of the High Court of Singapore, which designated an insolvency officeholder (See In re Xihe Holdings Pte. Ltd. et al. (2020) Min 72 Min Chu No. 334 ((2020)闽72民初334号)).

To our knowledge, it is the first time that a Chinese court has recognized a Singapore bankruptcy judgment, which provides an example of how Chinese courts recognize foreign insolvency judgments based on reciprocity.

Furthermore, Xiamen Maritime Court did not refer to the China-Singapore Memorandum of Guidance on Recognition and Enforcement of Money Judgments in Commercial Cases (the “MOG”) in its ruling, which confirms to some extent that the MOG is only applicable to money judgments in commercial cases, excluding bankruptcy (insolvency) matters.

I. Case overview

Xihe Holdings (Pte) Ltd (“Xihe”) was the defendant in a lawsuit heard by Xiamen Maritime Court. In the lawsuit, Xihe was ordered to go through the process of insolvency and reorganization pursuant to Order No. HC/ORC 6341/2020 and Order No. HC/ORC2696/2021 granted by the High Court of Singapore, and Paresh Tribhovan Jotangia (“Jotangia”) was appointed as the insolvency officeholder of Xihe.

Thereafter, Jotangia applied to Xiamen Maritime Court to confirm his capacity as the insolvency officeholder and to further confirm that he might engage Chinese lawyers for Xihe as an insolvency officeholder.

Xiamen Maritime Court holds that the application involves the recognition and enforcement of the foreign bankruptcy judgment, and based on the principle of reciprocity, it recognizes the aforesaid ruling made by the High Court of Singapore, thereby recognizing the capacity of Jotangia as the insolvency officeholder.

II. Case facts

The plaintiff, Fujian Huadong Shipyard Co., Ltd., filed a lawsuit in Xiamen Maritime Court against Ocean Tankers Pte Ltd, Xihe Holdings (Pte) Ltd and Xin Bo Shipping (Pte) Ltd. (“Xin Bo”). The lawsuit involves a dispute over a vessel maintenance contract. Xihe and Xin Bo are hereinafter collectively referred to as “Defendants”.

On 13 Nov. 2020, pursuant to the ruling of the High Court of Singapore, the defendant, Xihei, went through the process of insolvency and reorganization and Jotangia was appointed as its insolvency officeholder.

On 19 Mar. 2021, the defendant, Xin Bo, appointed Jotangia as its insolvency officeholder at its creditors’ meeting.

Accordingly, Jotangia acted as the insolvency officeholder of both Defendants.

Jotangia, as insolvency officeholder, appointed a Chinese lawyer to act as the agent ad litem of the two Defendants in the case involving the aforesaid vessel maintenance contract dispute.

Jotangia applied to Xiamen Maritime Court to confirm his capacity as the insolvency officeholder and to further confirm that he might engage Chinese lawyers for Xihe as an insolvency officeholder.

On 18 Aug. 2021, Xiamen Maritime Court ruled to recognize the ruling of the High Court of Singapore in respect of the insolvency officeholder of Xihe and accordingly recognized Jotangia as the insolvency officeholder of Xihe.

In addition, Xiamen Maritime Court confirmed the legality of the appointment of Jotangia as the insolvency officeholder of Xin Bo at the creditors’ meeting of Xin Bo in accordance with Singapore’s 2018 Insolvency Restructuring and Dissolution Act, and accordingly confirmed Jotangia as the insolvency officeholder of Xin Bo.

III. Court views

1. It confirms the insolvency officeholder appointed by the Singaporean court in relation to the recognition and enforcement of judgments.

Firstly, issues concerning the recognition and enforcement of foreign bankruptcy judgments shall be governed by the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law of China.

Pursuant to the Paragraph 2 of Article 5 of the Enterprise Bankruptcy law of China, where a legally effective judgment or ruling on a bankruptcy case made by a foreign court involves the debtor’s property within the territory of China, and an application or request for recognition and enforcement of the judgment or ruling is filed with the court, the court shall examine the application or request in accordance with the international treaty concluded or acceded to by China or with the principle of reciprocity. Where the court deems that the act does not violate the basic principles of Chinese laws, does not impair the sovereignty, security and public interests of China, and does not impair the legitimate rights and interests of the creditors within the territory of China, it shall rule to recognize and enforce the judgment or ruling.

The requirements for Chinese courts to recognize and enforce bankruptcy judgments of foreign courts are basically the same as those for recognizing other civil and commercial judgments of foreign courts in accordance with the PRC Civil Procedure Law (CPL).

Secondly, it confirms the insolvency officeholder appointed by the foreign court and in other words, it recognizes the applicable judgment or ruling of the foreign court.

By applying for confirmation as the insolvency officeholder of Xihe, Jotangia is in effect applying to the Chinese court for recognition of the order of the High Court of Singapore to appoint him as the insolvency officeholder.

Therefore, the Chinese court should consider the application in accordance with the Enterprise Bankruptcy Law mentioned above.

Thirdly, China and Singapore have formed a reciprocal relationship in the recognition and enforcement of civil and commercial judgments, including bankruptcy judgments.

In January 2014, the High Court of Singapore made a judgment No. [2014]SGHC16, recognizing and enforcing the civil judgment made by Suzhou Intermediate People’s Court of Jiangsu Province, China (See Giant Light Metal Technology (Kunshan) Co Ltd v Aksa Far East Pte Ltd [2014] SGHC 16).

On 9 Dec.  2016, the Nanjing Intermediate People’s Court of Jiangsu Province affirmed the reciprocal relationship between China and Singapore based on the aforementioned case, and accordingly recognized the judgment made by the High Court of Singapore. It’s also the first time that a Chinese court has recognized a foreign judgment based on the principle of reciprocity (See Kolmar Group AG v. Jiangsu Textile Industry (Group) Import & Export Co., Ltd., (2016) Su 01 Xie Wai Ren No. 3 ((2016)苏01协外认3号)).

On 2 Aug. 2019, the Wenzhou Intermediate People’s Court of Zhejiang Province once again recognized the judgment made by the High Court of Singapore (See Oceanside Development Group Ltd. v. Chen Tongkao & Chen Xiudan (2017) Zhe 03 Xie Wai Ren No. 7 ( (2017)浙03协外认7号)).

For a detailed discussion, see an earlier post ‘Again! Chinese Court Recognizes a Singapore Judgment’.

In addition, on 10 June 2020, Judge Vinodh Coomaraswamy of the High Court of Singapore, made an order, affirming the ruling on insolvency proceedings, “(2016)01 Po No. 8 ((2016)01破8)”, made by Nanjing Intermediate People’s Court of Jiangsu Province.

Thus, in accordance with the principle of reciprocity, Chinese courts may recognize and enforce the civil judgments and rulings meeting specific conditions, including bankruptcy ones, which are rendered by Singaporean courts.

2. It confirms the appointment of the insolvency officeholder at the creditors’ meeting of the company, subject to the governing law.

In accordance with Paragraph 1 of Article 14 of China’s Law of the Application of the Law on Foreign-related Foreign Relations, the laws at the place of registration shall apply to such matters as the capacity for civil rights, capacity for civil conduct, organizational structure, and shareholders’ rights and obligations of a legal person and its branch(es).

Therefore, in terms of the insolvency officeholder appointed by corporate creditors’ meetings, rather than by a foreign court, the Chinese court shall examine and confirm his/her identity and capacity in accordance with the laws at the place of incorporation of the foreign company.

Accordingly, Xiamen Maritime Court determined that the laws of Singapore should apply. To this end, it ascertained Singapore’s 2018 Insolvency Restructuring and Dissolution Act (the “Act”) and examined the legality of the appointment of insolvency officeholders by corporate creditors’ meetings under the Act.

IV. Our comments

In July 2021, one month prior to this case, a Chinese court recognized a Singaporean judgment, which involved loan disputes, based on reciprocity. The court mentioned the MOG in its ruling. (See our earlier post “Chinese Court Recognizes Singaporean Judgment Again: No second Treaty But Only Memorandum?”.)

Whereas in this case, Xiamen Maritime Court did not mention the MOG because the MOG is only applicable to money judgments in commercial cases, excluding bankruptcy matters.

However, it does not affect the Chinese court’s decision to form a reciprocal relationship with Singaporean counterparts over judgments, other than money judgments, in commercial cases.

As can be seen from this case and the foregoing ruling granted by the High Court of Singapore in 2020, affirming China’s bankruptcy proceedings, a reciprocal relationship can be considered to have existed between China and Singapore in bankruptcy matters.

In other words, the judgments or rulings that Chinese courts can recognize based on reciprocity are no longer limited to money judgments in commercial cases stated in MOG. MOG is also not the exclusive resource that we may look into on the recognition and enforcement of judgments between China and Singapore.

 

 

 

 

Contributors: Guodong Du 杜国栋 , Meng Yu 余萌

Save as PDF

You might also like

Washington State Recognizes Chinese Judgment for the First Time

In 2021, the Superior Court of Washington for King County ruled to recognize a judgment of a Beijing local court, marking the first time for a Washington state court, and the sixth time for a US court, to recognize and enforce Chinese monetary judgments (Yun Zhang v. Rainbow USA Investments LLC, Zhiwen Yang et al., Case No. 20-2-14429-1 SEA).