مراقب العدل الصيني

中 司 观察

الانجليزيةالعربيهالصينية المبسطة)الهولنديةالفرنسيةالألمانيّةالهنديةالإيطاليةاليابانيّةالكوريّةالبرتغاليّةالروسيةإسبانيالسويديةالعبريةالأندونيسيةالفيتناميةالتايلانديةالتركيةالملايوية

مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين خلال الثلاثين عامًا الماضية

الأحد، 02 أكتوبر 2022
المساهمين: جودونج دو 杜国栋
رئيس التحرير: يوان يانتشاو 袁 燕 超

الصورة الرمزية

 

بدأت شركات المحاماة الأجنبية في استكشاف السوق القانوني للصين في عام 1992. بعد أن بدأت فترة نمو سريع مدتها 12 عامًا في عام 2002 ، تراجعت تدريجياً عن ذروتها في عام 2014.

الوجبات الرئيسية:

  • في عام 1992 ، وافقت الحكومة الصينية على 12 شركة محاماة أجنبية لإنشاء مكاتب تمثيلية في الصين.
  • ارتفع عدد مكاتب تمثيل مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين بسرعة من 96 في عام 2002 إلى 232 في عام 2014 ، مما يدل على اتجاه متزايد باستمرار على الرغم من حدوث بعض الانخفاضات العرضية في غضون بضع سنوات. في هذه الفترة ، كان يتماشى مع معدل نمو الاستثمار الأجنبي في الصين. دخل محامو النخبة من جميع أنحاء العالم الصين أيضًا مع مستثمرين أجانب.
  • انخفض عدد المكاتب التمثيلية لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين من ذروة 232 في عام 2014 إلى 185 في عام 2020. ويعزى الانخفاض التدريجي إلى عوامل مختلفة ، بما في ذلك الاستثمار الأقل نشاطًا عبر الحدود ، ونطاق الخدمة المحدودة لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية ، و التطور السريع للمحامين الصينيين المحليين. 

بدأت شركات المحاماة الأجنبية في استكشاف السوق القانوني للصين في عام 1992. بعد أن بدأت فترة نمو سريع مدتها 12 عامًا في عام 2002 ، تراجعت تدريجياً عن ذروتها في عام 2014.

جمعت وزارة العدل الصينية الإحصاءات المذكورة أعلاه ، ومن بينها بيانات عام 2010 غير متوفرة.

1992. الدخول الأولي لمكتب محاماة أجنبي في الصين: 2001-XNUMX

في عام 1992 ، وافقت الحكومة الصينية على 12 شركة محاماة أجنبية لإنشاء مكاتب تمثيلية في الصين. قبل ذلك ، بدأت بعض شركات المحاماة الأجنبية في تقديم الخدمات القانونية ذات الصلة بالأجانب في الصين في شكل وكالات استشارات التجارة الخارجية.

في 26 مايو 1992 ، أصدرت وزارة العدل وإدارة الدولة السابقة للصناعة والتجارة بشكل مشترك "الأحكام المؤقتة بشأن إنشاء مكاتب تمثيلية في الصين من قبل مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية" ("أحكام عام 1992" ، 关于 外国 律师 事务所 在中国 境内 设立 办事处 的 暂行 规定). بموجب أحكام عام 1992 ، يُسمح لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية بإنشاء مكتب تمثيلي واحد فقط في 19 مدينة ، بما في ذلك بكين وشانغهاي وقوانغتشو.

هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تسمح فيها الصين رسميًا لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية بإنشاء مكاتب لها في البلاد.

بعد ذلك ، زاد عدد المكاتب التمثيلية لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين من 12 في عام 1992 إلى 96 في عام 2011.

في 19 ديسمبر 2001 ، اعتمد مجلس الدولة "اللوائح الإدارية للمكاتب التمثيلية لشركات القانون الأجنبية في الصين" ("لوائح عام 2001" ، 外国 律师 事务所 驻华 代表 机构 管理 条例). ترفع لوائح عام 2001 القيود المفروضة على مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية لإنشاء مكاتب تمثيلية من حيث الأعداد والمواقع ، مما يسهل وصول شركات المحاماة الأجنبية إلى السوق الصينية.

بعد ذلك ، دخلت مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية فترة من النمو السريع.

ثانيًا. النمو السريع لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية: 2002-2014

من عام 2002 إلى عام 2014 ، دخلت شركات المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين فترة من النمو السريع ، والتي بلغت ذروتها في عام 2014.

ارتفع عدد مكاتب تمثيل مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين بسرعة من 96 في عام 2002 إلى 232 في عام 2014 ، مما يدل على اتجاه متزايد باستمرار على الرغم من حدوث بعض الانخفاضات العرضية في غضون بضع سنوات.

في هذه الفترة ، كان يتماشى مع معدل نمو الاستثمار الأجنبي في الصين. دخل محامو النخبة من جميع أنحاء العالم الصين أيضًا مع مستثمرين أجانب.

في مدن مثل بكين وشانغهاي وقوانغتشو ، حاصرت شركات المحاماة الأجنبية السوق في الممارسات القانونية عبر الحدود والممارسات القانونية التجارية المتطورة.

ثالثا. انخفاض عدد مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية سنة بعد سنة: 2014-2020

انخفض عدد المكاتب التمثيلية لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين من ذروة 232 في عام 2014 إلى 185 في عام 2020. وهذا الرقم أقل من ذلك في عام 2009 ، حيث كان عددها 188.

الانخفاض التدريجي ناتج عن مزيج من العوامل التالية:

1. أقل نشاط الاستثمار عبر الحدود

في السنوات الأخيرة ، تباطأ الاستخدام الفعلي للصين للاستثمار الأجنبي. وقد انخفض الاستثمار المباشر الصيني الخارجي تدريجيًا منذ عام 2016. وقد أثر الانخفاض في عدد وقيمة المعاملات عبر الحدود بشكل مباشر على السوق القانوني عبر الحدود.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، في السنوات الثلاث الماضية ، كانت العلاقات الدولية للصين تتكيف ، وحدث جائحة COVID-19 وانتشر في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وقد أثر ذلك أيضًا على تطوير شركات المحاماة الأجنبية في الصين.

2. نطاق الخدمة المحدود لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية

على الرغم من أن لوائح عام 2001 ترفع القيود المفروضة على مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية لإنشاء مكاتب تمثيلية في الصين من حيث الأعداد والمواقع ، إلا أن نطاق الخدمات القانونية التي تقدمها شركات المحاماة الأجنبية هذه كانت محدودة للغاية.

ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن مكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية غير قادرة على التوسع بسلاسة.

على سبيل المثال ، لا يُسمح لشركات المحاماة الأجنبية بتوظيف محامين صينيين مرخصين ، ولا يُسمح لموظفيها بتقديم خدمات قانونية لعملائهم.

لا يمكن للأجانب التأهل كمحامين في الصين ، وبالتالي لا يمكنهم ممارسة القانون الصيني.

لا يمكن للمحامين الأجانب المشاركة في التقاضي كمحامين في المحاكم الصينية ويمكنهم فقط المشاركة في بعض التحكيم الدولي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يقتصر نطاق خدماتها بشكل أساسي على الاكتتاب العام وعمليات الدمج والاستحواذ والامتثال والاستثمار الأجنبي والأعمال التجارية الأخرى.

3. التطور السريع للمحامين المحليين في الصين 

في الوقت نفسه ، تطورت مكاتب المحاماة الصينية بسرعة في العقود الماضية. إنهم لا يقومون فقط بتحسين قدرتهم على تقديم الخدمات القانونية في الصين ، ولكنهم أيضًا يلحقون بمكاتب المحاماة الأجنبية في تقديم الخدمات في المسائل القانونية عبر الحدود.

تكتسب هذه الشركات الصينية تدريجياً حصة في السوق من شركات المحاماة الأجنبية.

على سبيل المثال ، بحلول نهاية عام 2020 ، كان هناك 8,588 محامًا صينيًا تلقوا تعليمًا وحصلوا على درجات أكاديمية في الخارج ، وأنشأت شركات المحاماة الصينية أكثر من 150 فرعًا في الخارج ، حيث تعاملوا مع أكثر من 93,000 من الشؤون القانونية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بدأت بعض شركات المحاماة الصينية في دخول السوق القانونية الدولية من خلال إنشاء مكاتب فرعية في الخارج أو الانضمام إلى تحالفات شركات المحاماة عبر الحدود أو تشكيلها ، مما يوفر حلولًا قانونية شاملة للعملاء في الصين وخارجها.

 

 

المساهمين: جودونج دو 杜国栋

احفظ

قد يعجبك ايضا

تتطلب الصين تغطية كاملة لدفاع المحامي في القضايا الجنائية

في أكتوبر 2022 ، أصدرت محكمة الشعب العليا الصينية وسلطات أخرى "آراء حول زيادة تعميق البرنامج التجريبي للتغطية الكاملة لدفاع المحامي في القضايا الجنائية" ، مما يمدد المرحلة التي يمكن فيها للمشتبه فيهم جنائيين الاستعانة بمحام إلى "الفحص و مرحلة النيابة.

كيف يعترف القضاة الصينيون بأحكام الإفلاس الأجنبية

في عام 2021 ، قضت محكمة شيامن البحرية ، بناءً على مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل ، بالاعتراف بأمر المحكمة العليا في سنغافورة ، التي عينت صاحب مكتب الإعسار. يشارك قاضي المحاكمة رأيه في مراجعة المعاملة بالمثل في طلبات الاعتراف بأحكام الإفلاس الأجنبية.

تطبيق المحاكم الصينية لاتفاقية البيع

توفر دراسة حديثة حول تطبيق اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة بشأن عقود البيع الدولي للبضائع في المحاكم الصينية منظورًا لكيفية تطبيق المحاكم الصينية وتفسيرها لاتفاقية البيع.

حل نزاعات التجارة الإلكترونية عبر الحدود في عيون المحاكم الصينية

أدى ازدهار التجارة الإلكترونية عبر الحدود في الصين إلى زيادة مصاحبة في النزاعات العابرة للحدود بين المصدرين الصينيين ومنصات التجارة الإلكترونية الصينية والمستهلكين في الخارج ومنصات التجارة الإلكترونية الخارجية. شارك قضاة محكمة هانغتشو للإنترنت أفكارهم حول محاكمة قضايا التجارة الإلكترونية عبر الحدود.

China Justice Observer

中司观察

EnglishArabicChinese (Simplified)DutchFrenchGermanHindiItalianJapaneseKoreanPortugueseRussianSpanishSwedishHebrewIndonesianVietnameseThaiTurkishMalay

Foreign Law Firms in China over Last Thirty Years

Sun, 02 Oct 2022
Categories: Insights

avatar

 

Foreign law firms started to explore China’s legal market in 1992. After a 12-year rapid growth period started in 2002, they gradually declined from their peak in 2014.

Key takeaways:

  • In 1992, 12 foreign law firms were approved by China’s government to establish representative offices in China.
  • The number of foreign law firms’ representative offices in China increased rapidly from 96 in 2002 to 232 in 2014, showing a continuously growing trend though with some occasional drops in a few years. In this period, it was in line with the growth rate of foreign investment in China. Elite lawyers from all over the world also entered China along with foreign investors.
  • The number of representative offices of foreign law firms in China declined from the peak of 232 in 2014 to 185 in 2020. The gradual decrease is attributable to various factors, including less active cross-border investment, limited service scope of foreign law firms, and rapid development of China's local lawyers. 

Foreign law firms started to explore China’s legal market in 1992. After a 12-year rapid growth period started in 2002, they gradually declined from their peak in 2014.

The above statistics are collected by the Ministry of Justice of China, among which the data for 2010 is not available.

I. Foreign law firm’s initial entry in China: 1992-2001

In 1992, 12 foreign law firms were approved by China’s government to establish representative offices in China. Prior to this, some foreign law firms had started to provide foreign-related legal services in China in the form of foreign trade consulting agencies.

On 26 May 1992, the Ministry of Justice and the previous State Administration for Industry and Commerce jointly issued the “Interim Provisions on the Establishment of Representative Offices in China by Foreign Law Firms” (the ”1992 Provisions”, 关于外国律师事务所在中国境内设立办事处的暂行规定). Under the 1992 Provisions, foreign law firms are allowed to establish only one representative office in 19 cities, including Beijing, Shanghai, and Guangzhou.

This is the first time that China officially allowed foreign law firms to establish offices in the country.

Thereafter, the number of representative offices of foreign law firms in China increased from 12 in 1992 to 96 in 2011.

On 19 Dec. 2001, the State Council adopted the “Administrative Regulations on the Representative Offices of Foreign Law Firms in China” (the "2001 Regulations", 外国律师事务所驻华代表机构管理条例). The 2001 Regulations lifts the restrictions on foreign law firms to establish representative offices in terms of numbers and locations, further facilitating the access for foreign law firms to China’s market.

Thereafter, foreign law firms entered a period of rapid growth.

II. Rapid growth of foreign law firms: 2002-2014

From 2002 to 2014, foreign law firms in China entered a period of rapid growth, which reached its peak in 2014.

The number of foreign law firms’ representative offices in China increased rapidly from 96 in 2002 to 232 in 2014, showing a continuously growing trend though with some occasional drops in a few years.

In this period, it was in line with the growth rate of foreign investment in China. Elite lawyers from all over the world also entered China along with foreign investors.

In cities such as Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou, foreign law firms have cornered the market in cross-border legal practice and high-end commercial legal practice.

III.  Decrease of foreign law firms year by year: 2014-2020

The number of representative offices of foreign law firms in China declined from the peak of 232 in 2014 to 185 in 2020. Such figure is less than that in 2009, the number of which was 188.

The gradual decrease is caused by the combination of the following factors:

1. Less active cross-border investment

In recent years, China's actual use of foreign investment has slowed down. And China's outbound direct investment has been gradually declining since 2016. The decline in the number and value of cross-border transactions has directly impacted the cross-border legal market.

In addition, in the past three years, China's international relations have been adjusting, and, the COVID-19 pandemic occurred and spread worldwide.

This has also affected the development of foreign law firms in China.

2. Limited service scope of foreign law firms

Although the 2001 Regulations lifts the restrictions on foreign law firms to establish representative offices in China in terms of numbers and locations, the scope of legal services provided by such foreign law firms has been strictly limited.

As a result, foreign law firms are not able to expand smoothly.

For example, foreign law firms are not allowed to employ licensed Chinese lawyers, and their employees are not allowed to provide legal services for their clients.

Foreigners cannot qualify as lawyers in China and therefore cannot practice Chinese law.

Foreign lawyers cannot participate in litigation as lawyers in Chinese courts and can only participate in some international arbitration. In addition, its service scope is mainly limited to IPO, mergers and acquisitions, compliance, foreign investment, and other commercial business.

3. Rapid development of China's local lawyers 

At the same time, Chinese law firms have developed rapidly in the past decades. Not only are they improving their ability to provide legal services in China, but they are also catching up with foreign law firms in providing services in cross-border legal matters.

These Chinese firms are gradually gaining market share from foreign law firms.

For example, by the end of 2020, there were 8,588 Chinese lawyers who had received education and obtained academic degrees abroad, and Chinese law firms had set up more than 150 branches abroad, handling more than 93,000 legal affairs.

In addition, some Chinese law firms started to enter the international legal market by establishing branch offices overseas or joining or forming cross-border law firm alliances, providing one-stop-shop legal solutions to clients both in China and overseas.

 

 

Contributors: Guodong Du 杜国栋

Save as PDF

You might also like

China Requires Full Coverage of Lawyer's Defense in Criminal Cases

In October 2022, China's Supreme People's Court and other three authorities jointly issued “Opinions on Further Deepening the Pilot Program of Full Coverage of Lawyer's Defense in Criminal Cases”, which extends the stage where the criminal suspects could have a lawyer to the 'examination and prosecution' stage.

How Chinese Judges Recognize Foreign Bankruptcy Judgments

In 2021, Xiamen Maritime Court ruled, based on the principle of reciprocity, to recognize the order of the High Court of Singapore, which designated an insolvency officeholder. The trial Judge shares his view on reciprocity review in applications for recognition of foreign bankruptcy judgments.

Application of the CISG by Chinese Courts

A recent study on the Application of the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods in Chinese Courts provides a perspective into how Chinese courts apply and interpret the CISG.

Cross-border E-commerce Dispute Resolution in the Eyes of Chinese Courts

The booming cross-border e-commerce in China has resulted in a concomitant rise in cross-border disputes among Chinese exporters, Chinese e-commerce platforms, overseas consumers, and overseas e-commerce platforms. Judges of Hangzhou Internet Court shared their reflections on the trial of cross-border e-commerce cases.