中国法院对外国法院判决承认与执行的审查标准即将被放宽

       

作者:杜国栋 余萌


长期以来,中国法院在外国民商事判决承认和执行的审查标准比较严格,导致外国民商事判决很难得到中国法院的承认和执行。但是,这一现状即将发生改变。

1.中国法院正在为放宽外国民商事判决承认和执行的审查标准而颁布专门规定

2017年7月13日,中国最高人民法院(SPC)在位于中国武汉市的武汉大学国际法研究所召开了《关于承认与执行外国法院民商事判决的司法解释》专家论证会,讨论了该司法解释的适用范围、互惠关系的认定、拒绝承认与执行的理由、惩罚性赔偿的范围以及管辖权的审查等问题进行了讨论。这是我们首次从公开渠道得知SPC正在为承认与执行外国法院判决制定专门的规定。

2017年9月26日,SPC审判委员会委员、第一巡回法庭庭长、二级大法官刘贵祥,在丝绸之路(敦煌)司法合作国际论坛上发言时表示,中国将积极适用互惠原则,便利外国法院民商事判决在中国得到承认和执行。为此SPC正在制定《关于承认和执行外国法院民商事判决若干问题的规定》,以明确互惠原则具体适用的标准,增进外国法院判决在中国得到承认和执行的便利度和透明度。这是SPC首次对外承认目前正在制定专门的规定。

尽管在上述两个场合下所披露的规定名称不一致,但很可能是同一个文件。SPC将在该规定中放宽外国民商事判决承认和执行的审查标准。

2.中国法院长期以来对外国民商事判决承认和执行采取严格的审查标准

中国法院主要根据《民事诉讼法》及《民事诉讼法司法解释》承认与执行外国法院判决。概括而言,中国法院的审查标准主要包括以下5项:

1. 申请承认的判决应为外国法院作出的发生法律效力的判决、裁定;

2. 外国法院判决、裁定为缺席判决、裁定的,外国法院已经合法传唤当事人;

3. 中国法院未对同一案件作出判决;

4. 两国存在相互承认与执行民商事判决的条约关系或者互惠关系,但离婚判决除外无此要求;以及

5. 承认与执行该判决,不违反中华人民共和国法律的基本原则或者国家主权、安全、社会公共利益。

第4项是核心条件。目前中国仅与33国家签有相互承认和执行民商事判决的司法协助条约,美国、日本、英国等与中国经贸往来最密切的国家并未与中国签订民商事司法协助条约。因此认定两国之间是否存在互惠关系,对各国法院的商事判决能否在中国法院得到承认和执行十分关键。

在司法实践中,中国法院对于互惠关系采取审慎态度。在《最高人民法院关于我国人民法院应否承认和执行日本国法院具有债权债务内容裁判的复函》,SPC认为中国与日本之间没有缔结或者参加相互承认和执行法院判决、裁定的国际条约,亦未建立相应的互惠关系,因此我国人民法院对所涉及的日本国法院裁判应不予承认和执行。

此后中国法院参照该复函的做法,处理了弗拉西动力发动机有限公司申请承认和执行澳大利亚判决案等多起申请承认和执行外国民商事判决案件,裁定驳回当事人的承认和执行申请。

据此,中国法院在实际审查是否存在互惠关系时多采取事实互惠的审查标准,即审查中国与法院地国之间是否存在相互承认和执行对方法院判决的先例。

3.中国法院的转变与中国政府“一带一路”战略密切相关

中国法院转变外国法院判决承认与执行上的态度,是为了配合中国政府提出共同建设丝绸之路经济带和21世纪海上丝绸之路(以下简称“一带一路”)的倡议。中国法院希望满足“一带一路”建设中中国及各国市场主体对中国司法领域的关切和需求,为“一带一路”建设营造良好法治环境。

根据中国政府2015年3月颁布的《推动共建丝绸之路经济带和21世纪海上丝绸之路的愿景与行动》,该倡议旨在促进亚洲,欧洲和非洲大陆及其邻近海域的连通性,使中国能够进一步扩大和深化对外开放,并加强与亚洲,欧洲和非洲以及世界其他国家的互利合作。

相应地,2015年6月中国法院颁布了《关于人民法院为“一带一路”建设提供司法服务和保障的若干意见》,该文件表示将倡导并逐步扩大国际司法协助范围。具体而言,一方面,中国将推动缔结双边或者多边司法协助协定,促进沿线各国司法判决的相互承认与执行。另一方面,在沿线一些国家尚未与中国缔结司法协助协定的情况下,中国法院将根据国际司法合作交流意向、对方国家承诺将给予我国司法互惠等情况,考虑由中国法院先行给予对方国家当事人司法协助,积极促成形成互惠关系。

4.中国法院已经采取实际行动以推动外国法院判决的承认与执行

2017年6月8日,在第二届中国-东盟大法官论坛上,SPC与其他参与国法院共同签署了《南宁声明》(Nanning Declaration)。该声明第七项中表示考虑适当促进各国民商事判决的相互承认和执行。尚未缔结有关外国民商事判决承认和执行国际条约的国家,在承认与执行对方国家民商事判决的司法程序中,如对方国家的法院不存在以互惠为理由拒绝承认和执行本国民商事判决的先例,在本国国内法允许的范围内,即可推定与对方国家之间存在互惠关系。

SPC民四庭庭长张勇健撰文指出,中国司法实践中长期以来强调事实互惠,《南宁声明》首次提出推定互惠关系共识,是对中国以往做法的重大突破。推定互惠是指只要没有相反证据证明外国曾有拒绝承认与执行内国判决的先例,就推定两国之间存在互惠关系。推定互惠消解了请求方为证明互惠关系所需承担的举证负担,增强了互惠关系存在的可能性,有利于提高民商事判决相互承认和执行的实效。张勇健也指出,《南宁声明》第七项推定互惠共识,是对《关于人民法院为“一带一路”建设提供司法服务和保障的若干意见》上述内容的积极落实。

中国法院在这一方向上的步伐正在加快。2017年9月12日,中国政府签署了《选择法院协议公约》。该公约旨在国际范围内统一外国民商事判决承认与执行的公约。如中国外交部条法司司长徐宏所说,中国加入该公约是为了便利与“一带一路”沿线国家各种民商事法律争议的解决,促进和便利沿线国家经贸与人员往来。

5.中国法院的最新案例表明外国法院判决被承认与执行的可能性在加大

2016年12月9日,中国江苏省南京市中级人民法院作出(2016)苏01协外认3号裁定书,该裁定书是中国法院首次根据“互惠原则”承认执行新加坡法院生效判决。SPC将该案作为指导性案例,列入了“第二批涉‘一带一路’建设典型案例”。指导性案例是SPC为了确保法律的统一适用,从中国各级人民法院的案例中选择出来,在审理类似案件具有普遍指导意义的案例。在该案中,南京中院认为“中国与新加坡之间并未缔结或者共同参加关于相互承认和执行生效民商事裁判文书的国际条约,但由于新加坡高等法院曾对中国法院的民事判决予以执行,根据‘互惠原则’,中国法院可以对符合条件的新加坡法院的民事判决予以承认和执行。”

中国湖北省武汉市中级人民法院作出2015鄂武汉中民商外初字第00026号裁定书,承认美国加利福尼亚州洛杉矶县高等法院的判决。该裁定书是中国法院首次依照互惠原则认可美国法院商事判决效力的案件。SPC在其网站中介绍了该案,凸显其对该案的重视。在该案中,武汉中院认为“美国同中国之间并未缔结也未共同参加相互承认和执行民事判决的国际条约”,“申请人提交的证据已证实美国有承认和执行我国法院民事判决的先例存在,可以认定双方之间存在相互承认和执行民事判决的互惠关系”,因此中国法院可以对符合条件的美国法院的民事判决予以承认和执行。

我们的建议:

1.SPC即将颁布关于承认和执行外国法院民商事判决的规定。该规定很可能采取《南宁宣言》中推定互惠的做法来认定外国与中国是否存在互惠关系。该规定的其他内容也很可能与《选择法院协议公约》保持一致。换而言之,外国法院判决在中国得到承认与执行的可能性将会大幅度提高。

2.按照SPC目前在这一领域的积极动作的节奏,我们乐观估计,在2018年3月第十三届全国人民代表大会第一次会议上选举和决定任命最高人民法院组成人员后不久,该规定将会由最高人民法院颁布。

3.该规定颁布后,外国法院判决在中国承认与执行的条件将得以明确。已取得外国生效判决的当事人即可开始准备视情况向中国法院申请承认该判决。

标签: 外国判决承认与执行

Time to Loosen the Criteria for Recognizing and Enforcing Foreign Judgments in China

ImageImageImage


By Meng Yu &  Guodong Du 


For decades, China has adopted rigorous criteria for the recognition and enforcement of civil and commercial judgments rendered by a foreign court, which resulted in a comparatively low rate in recognizing and enforcing foreign judgments. However, the situation will undergo considerable changes.

1. Special rules are being drafted to loosen the criteria for recognizing and enforcing foreign judgments.

On 13 July 2017, China’s Supreme People’s Court (SPC) held an expert meeting at the Wuhan University Institute of International Law to discuss a drafted version of the “Judicial Interpretation on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Civil and Commercial Judgments” (关于承认与执行外国法院民商事判决的司法解释). During the meeting, several issues lay at the heart of the debates, including the scope of application, the principle of reciprocity, refusal grounds and punitive damages, as well as the competency of a foreign jurisdiction. This is the first time for us to learn from publicly available sources that the SPC is drafting special rules on recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

On 26 September 2017, during the Silk Road (Dunhuang) Judicial Cooperation Forum, Judge Liu Guixiang (SPC adjudication committee member, president of the First Circuit Court, Grand Justice of the second rank) indicated that China is about to actively apply the principle of reciprocity, in order to facilitate the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments in civil and commercial matters in China. To achieve this goal, the SPC is drafting the “Provisions on Several Issues concerning the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Civil and Commercial Judgments” (关于承认和执行外国法院民商事判决若干问题的规定). The draft is said to identify clear standards in applying the principle of reciprocity, and to enhance transparency and facilitate the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments. This means the SPC publicly recognizes for the first time some special rules being drafted in this area.

In spite of differences in names disclosed to the public, the two documents are very likely to be the same one. Overall, it is in this SPC’s judicial interpretation that the criteria for recognizing and enforcing foreign judgments are about to loosen.

2. Rigorous criteria have long been adopted by Chinese courts in recognizing and enforcing foreign judgments.

Pursuant to the PRC Civil Procedure Law and its Interpretation, five (5) main criteria for Chinese courts in reviewing requests to recognize and enforce foreign judgments are as follows.

1. The foreign judgment should be final and conclusive.

2. In case of a foreign judgment in default, the absent party should have been properly served.

3. The foreign judgment will not be recognized if a Chinese court has also rendered a judgment on the same matter.

4. Except for divorce judgments, international treaties concluded or acceded to by the PRC or the principle of reciprocity is a prerequisite for recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

5. The foreign judgment does not contradict primary principles of Chinese law, State sovereignty, security and social and public interest.

Criterion No. 4 is a core element. By now, China has entered into bilateral treaties with only 33 countries for the mutual recognition and enforcement of court judgments. Nevertheless, as for countries having extensive trade links with China, such as the United States, Japan and the United Kingdom, such bilateral treaties have not been concluded yet. The existence of a reciprocal relationship is therefore critical for recognizing and enforcing judgments from a foreign jurisdiction.

In practice, Chinese courts adopt a restrictive attitude towards the principle of reciprocity. In the SPC’s “Re the Request for Instruction on Recognizing and Enforcing a Japanese monetary judgment” (最高人民法院关于我国人民法院应否承认和执行日本国法院具有债权债务内容裁判的复函), the SPC affirmed the requested Chinese court’s decision, holding that China had not concluded or acceded to any international treaty with Japan on mutual recognition and enforcement of court judgments, nor had it established a reciprocal relationship with Japan. The enforcement of Japanese judgments was therefore refused for the lack of reciprocity. Following the SPC’s reply, this view was echoed by local courts in similar cases concerning requests to recognize and enforce foreign judgments.

Thus, it can be said that in practice, Chinese courts adopt the approach of de facto reciprocity, which requires actual precedents where the foreign country has previously recognized and enforced Chinese judgments.

3. Chinese courts’ attitudinal changes correspond with China’s Belt and Road Initiative.

What lies underneath the fundamental shift in Chinese courts’ attitudes towards the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments is in alignment with China’s “Belt and Road initiative”, i.e., the “ Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st-Century Maritime Silk Road” initiative. To be more specific, Chinese courts wish to respond to the judicial concerns and demands of both Chinese and foreign market players, and to create a sound legal environment for the construction of the “Belt and Road initiative”.

Pursuant to the “Vision and Actions on Jointly Building Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st-Century Maritime Silk Road” (推动共建丝绸之路经济带和21世纪海上丝绸之路的愿景与行动) enacted by the Chinese government in March 2015, this “Belt and Road initiative” aims to “promote the connectivity of Asian, European and African continents and their adjacent seas, and will enable China to further expand and deepen its opening-up, and to strengthen its mutually beneficial cooperation with countries in Asia, Europe and Africa and the rest of the world”.

Accordingly, in June 2015, the SPC issued the “Several Opinions of the Supreme People's Court on Providing Judicial Services and Safeguards for the Construction of the “Belt and Road” by People's Courts” (关于人民法院为“一带一路”建设提供司法服务和保障的若干意见), which emphasizes the need to broaden the scope of  international judicial assistance. In other words, for one thing, China will conclude more bilateral or multilateral treaties on judicial assistance, thus facilitating the recognition and enforcement of judgments delivered by courts from countries along the “Belt and Road”; and for another, in the absence of such treaties, based on mutual views in international judicial cooperation and/or the commitments of the requesting state to grant reciprocity, Chinese courts may grant reciprocity first, thus promoting the formation of a reciprocal relationship.

4. Chinese courts take practical steps to promote the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments.

On 8 June 2017, the “Nanning Statement” (南宁声明) was approved at the 2nd China-ASEAN Justice Forum held in Nanning. Article 7 of the Nanning Statement stipulates that Supreme Courts of participating countries will “consider facilitating the appropriate mutual recognition and enforcement of civil or commercial judgments among different jurisdictions”; “if two countries have not been bound by any international treaty on mutual recognition and enforcement of foreign civil or commercial judgments, both countries may, subject to their domestic laws, presume the existence of their reciprocal relationship, when it comes to the judicial procedure of recognizing or enforcing such judgments made by courts of the other country, provided that the courts of the other country had not refused to recognize or enforce such judgments on the ground of lack of reciprocity”.

As Judge Zhang Yongjian (Director of the SPC’s 4th Civil Division) pointed out, despite the fact that China has long adopted de facto reciprocity in practice, the Nanning Statement first proposed the approach of “presumptive reciprocity” (推定互惠), i.e., to presume the existence of a reciprocal relationship in the absence of contrary evidence, marking significant progresses in this field. Furthermore, Zhang also indicated that the consensus of “presumptive reciprocity” expressed in the Article 7 of the Nanning Statement, is a concrete follow-up initiative of the “Several Opinions of the Supreme People's Court on Providing Judicial Services and Safeguards for the Construction of the “Belt and Road” by People's Courts”.

The year 2017 also witnessed another progress in this field. On 12 September, China signed the “Hague Convention on Choice of Court Agreements”, an instrument for harmonizing the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments on the international level. As Director-General of the Department of Treaty and Law of Ministry of Foreign Affairs Xu Hong put it, China signed the convention in order to facilitate resolution of civil and commercial disputes among countries along the “Belt and Road”, as well as to promote the international trade and exchange in this area.

5. Chinese recent cases show an increased likelihood of foreign judgment being recognized and enforced.

On 9 December 2016, Nanjing Intermediate People’s Court rendered the ruling “(2016) Su 01 Xie Wai Ren No. 3” ((2016)苏01协外认3号), which marks a milestone development. It is the first time that a Chinese court has recognized and enforced a Singapore judgment based on the principle of reciprocity. Among others, this case was later included by the SPC as a guiding case in the “Second Group of Guiding Cases involving Construction of the “Belt and Road” (第二批涉“一带一路”建设典型案例). The guiding cases project is an SPC-led system, in which certain Chinese court judgments are selected and re-issued as de facto binding guiding cases to guide the adjudication of similar subsequent cases and ensure the uniform application of law. It is in this case that Nanjing Intermediate People’s Court ruled, “despite the absence of any bilateral treaty for mutual recognition and enforcement of judgments between P.R.C and Singapore, a Chinese court may, based on the principle of reciprocity, recognize and enforce a Singapore judgment, considering that Singapore High Court has previously enforced a Chinese judgment”.

Similarly, on 30 June 2017, Wuhan Intermediate People’s Court issued the ruling “(2015) E Wu Han Zhong Min Shang Wai Chu Zi No. 00026” ((2015)鄂武汉中民商外初字第00026号), recognizing and enforcing a judgment rendered by the Los Angeles Superior Court, California, US. This is the first time that a Chinese court, based on the principle of reciprocity, has recognized and enforced a US court judgment. The case has drawn much attention in China and appeared on the SPC’s website, an indicator of the SPC’s priorities and concerns. In this case, Wuhan Intermediate People’s Court indicated that, “despite the fact that there are no bilateral treaties nor international conventions on mutual recognition and enforcement concluded between the United States and China”, “the Claimant has established that a US court has previously recognized and enforced a Chinese court decision, thus the Court confirms the existence of a reciprocal relationship between the two countries”, based on which a Chinese court may enforce a US court decision, provided that other criteria are met.


Our tips:

1. The SPC is about to issue special rules on the recognition and enforcement of foreign civil and commercial judgments. It is highly likely that the rules will adopt the approach of “presumptive reciprocity” proposed by the Nanning Statement. Moreover, these rules are likely to conform to the Hague Convention on Choice of Court Agreements. In other words, this will substantially increase the likelihood of foreign judgment being recognized and enforced in China.

2. Given the SPC’s current active engagement, our optimistic estimate is that these rules will be issued by the SPC, not long after this March, when the 13th National People’s Congress (NPC) finishes its personnel appointment of the SPC.

3. As soon as these SPC’s rules are issued, we will have clear criteria for recognizing and enforcing foreign judgments in China. For those who have obtained a final and conclusive foreign judgment, it is time to prepare and, where applicable, to apply for its recognition and enforcement in a Chinese court.




If you would like to discuss with us about the post, or share your views and suggestions, please contact Ms. Meng Yu (meng.yu@chinajusticeobserver.com ).

If you need legal services for the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments and arbitral awards in China, please contact Mr. Guodong Du (guodong.du@chinajusticeobserver.com ). Du and his team of experienced attorney will be able to assist you.

If you wish to receive news and gain deep insights on Chinese judicial system, please feel free to subscribe to our newsletters (subscribe.chinajusticeobserver.com ).


For more information on Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Judgments in China, please feel free to download our CJO newsletter vol.1 no. 1.




Tag: Recognizing and Enforcing Foreign Judgments in China, SPC Judge Liu Guixiang, Belt and Road, China’s Supreme People’s Court’s 4th Civil Division, SPC Judge Zhang Yongjian